Fancy dress tales

Motherhood is like a second childhood for me. Slowly, I am learning to see the world with the eyes of a child. I have started noticing the snails and earthworms in the rainy season, butterflies and flowers, clouds in the sky, the ants moving on the ground, the birds … animals … and so many things that I had forgottenย  stopped noticing. All this thanks to Cheebu ๐Ÿ™‚ It also brings back memories of my own childhood. I was a shy child and though at some point of time I have participated in many extracurricular activities, I always had stage fright. Maybe because I had less exposure to the stage at a young age. There were not many activities for young children during those times. So if I find any such opportunity for Cheebu I try to make her participate. I would say that she has been lucky in this respect because being in a daycare she first performed on stage at 1 and half years of age for her annual function and many times since then.

The first opportunity to send her on stage voluntarily came when she was 15 months old. We had ย our building function and there was a fancy dress competition. One of myย neighborsย insisted that I should make Cheebu participate. Time was short and also hubby who is the more creative among the 2 of us was out of station. I wondered what a child so small could do.ย She had a princess dress complete with a crown and a veil. I decided to make her a fairy. I made a silver star wand for her with card paper and silver sheet. I sent her on stage and hoped that she wouldn’t cry and throw off the crown, veil and the wand ๐Ÿ™‚ . But I need not have worried. She was quite well behaved and even did some magic on stage ๐Ÿ™‚

The next opportunity came when she was 3 and half years old, again for our building function. She insisted that she wanted to be Radha and we had to give in to her demands though we knew this was a very common character for fancy dress. This one was easy … she already had a lehenga, I decked her up in some jewellery and a gave her a matka ๐Ÿ™‚

The third occasion was on Children’s day at school last year. It was on a monday and Friday eveningย all 3 of us had a discussion about it over our evening walk after dinner.ย I said lets make her a doodhwala or a witch to which she flatly refused. She wanted to be a fairy, princess or an angel (I don’t know why all little girls want to be these) to which we were opposed because every second childย ย would come dressedย up as these. We wanted her to be something different. I thought she would make a cute witch but she was very much against this idea. Then hubby suggested why not make her a robot. It seemed a great idea to me. Cheebu didn’t seem very enthusiastic to the idea at first but when we showed her some pictures of robots ย she was excited. All three of us worked hard over the weekend and the result was ………

It was a huge success and I must say that it was very much appreciated ๐Ÿ™‚ For us as parents it also gave lot of satisfaction because we had made this right from scratch at home.

16 thoughts on “Fancy dress tales

  1. Wow! love that cute pink robot ….excellent craft-work there ๐Ÿ˜€
    Cheebu is looking soooooooo sweet in all pictures….tight hugs and kisses to the little darling ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Hey LS! You guys are so talented re, I just loved that Robot. I noticed how you used the aluminium foil takeaway containers that you put to use. Totally awesome ๐Ÿ˜€

    Cheebu looks like a doll in the first pic. Lots of kisses to her ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Cheebu is looking super cute in the first pic… ๐Ÿ™‚ what an innovative way to dress her up as pink robot.. simply superb the costume is ๐Ÿ™‚ yayy to you for coming up with the idea and implementing it! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

