Updates

I am back from a much needed vacation from my parents place. Returning back to daily routine after spending a week lazing around can be so difficult ๐Ÿ˜ฆ .. to add to it 2 late nights (attending a b’day party and some work at home) immediately after returning back ย left me really tired. The long weekend helped me relax and finish my unpacking and other pending jobs and I am feeling quite fresh now ๐Ÿ™‚ Some updates from the last 15 days

We celebrated Holi here before starting for our vacation the next day. Cheebu had a great time playing Holi with her friends even though it was cold here by Mumbai standards ๐Ÿ™‚

The vacation was super fun. We had a great time … Nana had saved some kites for Cheebu and we had so much fun flying kites. Hubby was reminded of his childhood days and taught Cheebu the art of flying kites ๐Ÿ™‚ . They even managed to cut another kite ๐Ÿ™‚ I was quite impressed by his knowledge of flying kites and the terminology ๐Ÿ™‚

ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย 

Nana’s home is on the banks of a river. The views from the terrace and balconies wereย marvelous.

I managed to read a couple of books “The reluctant detective” and “The Palace of Illusions”. ย I hardly get any time for reading in my daily life and so I was really looking forward to this time of uninterrupted reading where I had no work, no chores to think of and Cheebu was kept busy by her Nana Nani ๐Ÿ™‚

I baked a cake for my own B’day ๐Ÿ™‚ and it turned out quite well. (My mom can make me do that ๐Ÿ™‚ ). The cake was baked in the pressure cooker … something I made often during my younger days when I stayed with my parents. Will post the recipe soon.

Cheebu not to be left behind tried her hand at cooking … since she could get away with most things she wanted to do with her nani. Rotis made by her were in great demand by nana and nani.

Finally, I got time to try some ย paper quilling … something I had wanted to do for a long time. I had taken the quilling strips and quilling tool which were lying unused for quite some time after I bought them here for lack of time. My first attempt in paper quilling turned out quite satisfactory ๐Ÿ™‚ and I can’t wait to do more. I made a small wall piece which my parents have proudly displayed in their home.

I met two of my very good college friends who happened to be in the same city. Though I have met them individually a couple of times in the last few years, the 3 of us were meeting together after more than 10 years. It was quite a reunion for us reliving our post graduation days. One of my friends has a daughter of Cheebu’s age and it was so good to see the two kids bonding so well within moments of meeting. It looked as if they were meeting after so many years and not us ๐Ÿ™‚

It has become very hot here, so didn’t dare to venture out much in the long weekend. We tried to cool off the heat with fresh watermelon juice made at home, chhaas (buttermilk), coconut water, ice creams, orange candy bar …. Summers are here! Waiting for the mangoes now ๐Ÿ™‚

6 thoughts on “Updates

  1. sounds like a fun vacation.. looking at the picture I was about to ask you about the river but you mentioned it.. the view is beautiful.. where are the pictures of the output of paper quilling?

  2. Good to have you back after a wonderful vacation ๐Ÿ˜€
    Lovely pictures, Cheebu sure had a wonderful time with her grandparents ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€
    I have been trying to read the palace of illusions but haven’t been successful as yet…how did you find the book?

    • Thanks Myera ๐Ÿ™‚ We had a nice time.
      I enjoyed reading palace of illusions. Draupadi is one woman character from our mythologies that I admire because she wasn’t the ideal sacrificing types. I think it is a nicely written book from her perspective. There are so many things in the book about her that I didn’t know.

Leave a Reply

