The long weekend

We had a long, long weekend here of four long days and hubby was out of station 😦 That ruled out going out anywhere and I was left to entertain Cheebu all alone at home. I realized that if I had to maintain my sanity I had to keep her busy and happy without allowing her to watch too much TV.

I am quite new to the blogging world and among the many blogs that I read is Ani’s blog. I love the way she spends time with her little one Adi. While going through her archives I found this post and I thought that I must do this with Cheebu. She would love it. So on thursday, I told her that we were going to make a tent house. She was super excited πŸ™‚ Following the link on Ani’s blog, we made lots of tubes with the newspapers. We spent the whole day doing this. Then we tried to assemble it in the form of a house similar to the one in Ani’s blog. But this square house just wouldn’t stay. It collapsed everytime 😦 Β  I then realized that a triangular structure is more stable and went about making lots of triangles and assembled it … So here is the frame of the tent house… I know it looks funny but at least it didn’t collapse πŸ™‚

Oh… and this was assembled with the help of Cheebu and her friend who dropped in at our house in the evening to play with her. I couldn’t have assembled it all alone. The two girls were so excited and couldn’t wait to get inside it. We covered it with a bedsheet and they took turns to go inside πŸ™‚

Finally both of them went and sat inside πŸ™‚Β It collapsed after sometime but it was fun while it lasted. The girls enjoyed playing in it. Even after it collapsed we made it into a mini tent house … πŸ™‚

I was so tired at the end of the day that we ordered Pizza for me and Garlic bread with cheesy dip for Cheebu for dinner πŸ™‚ Cheebu wanted me to assemble the house again but I had had enough for that day πŸ™‚ So we decided to make another one when hubby comes back.

Later, during the weekend, I cut off the ends of the tubes and asked Cheebu to paint it in red and blue using poster colors. She loves to mess about with paint, so this kept her busy πŸ™‚

We then assembled these painted tubes in the form of a star. The end result was this. Doesn’t it look good πŸ™‚

Friday, we went for a morning walk at 7:30 am. It was hot by the time we came back but we had fun watching the parrots, pigeons, a sleeping kitten, the jamuns on a jamun tree (I don’t know what it is called in english) and even swinging on the swings. Then after getting ready we went to her friends house for a pooja we had been invited to. A couple of her other friends were also there and they all refused to go back home after the pooja. Β So, left her there for some more time and went back home to finish the cleaning and other house chores. Afternoon was spent sleeping.

Saturday, I had to go to work for a couple of hours. So I left Cheebu at a friends place. Back from work I also spent some time at the friends place catching up with her. She is a close friend currently on her maternity leave with second baby, an adorable 8 month old daughter. Her first daughter and Cheebu are of the same age and good friends since they were babies πŸ™‚ Afternoon was spent sleeping and shopping for vegetables and groceries.

On Sunday, we went shopping. She has outgrown her school shoes so we bought those. Also Cheebu had her first ever haircut in a beautyΒ parlour πŸ™‚Β Β All these days I would send her with hubby to the local barber for the haircut. He always did a good job with her hair for only Rs. 20. But with hubby not around and her hair grown so much in the summers I had no choice but to take her to the parlour to get her hair cut. They charged Rs. 100 for the same haircut. I am not taking her to the parlour next time πŸ™‚Β On all evenings, we either went to have ice creams or went down with her cycle.

And … oh yes…. we did some experiments too during the weekend πŸ™‚ I found lots of ice in the freezer and the mom-daughter duo turned into scientists trying to explore the melting of ice πŸ™‚ I gave Cheebu two ice cubes, one we kept in the balcony and other one in the kitchen. We tried to see which one melted faster. It was fun to see her excited and running between the balcony and the kitchen… kept her busy. Turned out that the kitchen was hotter than the balcony. Next day we repeated the experiment by keeping one ice cube in the sun and another one in the shade to see which one melted faster.

So that was our long long weekend πŸ™‚ How was yours?

14 thoughts on “The long weekend

  1. wow! what a wonderful way to spend the long weekend…I can imagine how excited Cheebu and her friend must have been helping you set up the tent and then taking turns to sit in it πŸ˜€
    Fun and learning while playing is a wonderful way to teach kids….loved the ice-cube experiment idea πŸ™‚

    • A 4 day long weekend at home with a four year old anyway tests your patience πŸ™‚ I had to keep her busy otherwise she would have ended up watching TV all the time. We had fun πŸ™‚

  2. superb! you are so creative and enthusiastic mommy…I’m taking lessons from you, ani and Smithu around πŸ™‚ girls you rock!!!

    and that tent house is so creative…I’ve bookmarked the link you provided for future use πŸ™‚

    • The tent house was inspired by Ani and Adi πŸ™‚
      And thank you for taking time to go through my older posts and commenting on them πŸ™‚
      You made my day πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

