Past few days

…have been busy.

We have a holiday planned πŸ™‚ But planning it was hard work I must say. Started with convincing hubby that we need to go for a holiday, then deciding the destination and researching about it. We decided on a destination and after 2 weeks of discussion and research on it changed it to another. Crazy you can call us. So again we started with our planning for the second destination, researching which places to cover, should we go for a packaged tour or just book the hotels and decide our own itinery, which hotels to choose … and by the time we had decided, tickets were not available for the dates we wanted to go on. So then again rescheduling our plans so that it wasΒ convenientΒ for all 3 of us. It was a mad, mad time but finally we managed … and hopefully if everything goes well we start next weekend for our much planned holiday πŸ™‚

We have resumed our after dinner evening walks. We enjoy these walks so much but it keeps getting off our routine for some reason or the other. Mostly due to hubby’s travel schedules, sometimes the weather and more recently due to Cheebu’s early morning school in April. Since school was at 8 in the morning I had to make sure that she goes to Β bed early Β which left us with no time to go for walk after dinner. But now that summer vacations have started we can afford to send her to bed a little late. We walk some distance to our favorite benches, sit there for sometime, enjoy our little time together in the cool summer breeze and then walk back home. Sometimes we meet friends in the building compound, so we chat while the kids play. Being summer vacations many kids can be seen playing in the building compound at this time. Apart from being a healthy routine it is also our chance to spend some time exclusively together as a family. I am glad to see that Cheebu is turning into a nature lover. She notices different trees, flowers, creepers and loves to discuss about them. Sometimes we stop to smell the nocturnal flowers on the way … the rajnigandhas and harsingar… we see the different phases of the moon …

Keeping up with my baking experiments I tried baking cinnamon rolls apart from this. The cinnamon rolls turned out great. You can check out the recipe in Seema’s and Ani’s blog. Yesterday I made sabudana wadas for dinner for the first time. Cheebu’s compliments made my day. She is normally reluctant to try anything new… but for a change not only did she try it enthusiastically she went ahead and told me that she would love to have this in her tiffin box. What more could a mother ask? πŸ™‚

I managed to read a couple of books during the weekends… “Life is what you make it” and “Tea for two and a piece of cake” both by Preeti Shenoy. I was looking forward to reading these for a long time and enjoyed reading them. I am really trying hard to fit reading into my schedule. I used to read a lot all through my student years and after that when I started working till I was on maternity leave. But after joining back work with a baby and home to look after reading took a back seat. Finally, I did resume reading last year but not at the pace I would like to … just a few books here and there … during vacations and sometimes on weekends… But reading about reading and book reviews from fellow bloggers I feel desperate to get back to reading again. The trouble is that weekdays are a mad rush and weekends are the only time I get where I can do some activities with Cheebu or try my hand at some out of routine cooking. I don’t even have travel time to work … it is just a couple of minutes drive … on most days hubby drops me… so where do I get time to even open a book. Sigh! But I do wish to get back … and am planning to rejoin the library that I gave up when I went on maternity leave.

Today is our 7th marriage anniversary. Almost 11 years of knowing each other and 7 years of married life out of which 2 years were spent staying apart in different cities … we have Β come a long way πŸ™‚ Cheebu does not like it that it is her mumma-papa’s anniversay and she is excluded from it πŸ™‚ … she likes to say “hum teenon ki anniversary hai” . As of now no special plans for our special day. Both of us are at work… in the evening we may go out for dinner or have a special dinner at home.

20 thoughts on “Past few days

  1. Happy Wedding Anniversary…aap teenoko πŸ™‚

    Wah….so a vacation is on the way…enjoy karoji πŸ™‚

    Hope you get more time for the books.

  2. Wishing you a very very very happy wedding anniversary.. hope you have a great day , have a great dinner πŸ™‚

    you did not say where you are going for a holiday πŸ™‚ have fun and enjpoyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

    • Thank you Bikram for your wishes πŸ™‚ We had a great day and a lovely dinner at home πŸ™‚
      We are going on a Himalayan Holiday. Will share more details soon πŸ™‚

  3. Happy wedding anniversary to you… πŸ™‚ hope you have a blast… what a coincidence.. my hubby and I have also known each other for 11 years and 7 years we have been married… though the dates don’t match.. πŸ™‚ btw, where are you going?

    • Wow, Same pinch πŸ™‚ and you have a 4 year old too. So many coincidences πŸ™‚
      Thanks for the wishes πŸ™‚
      We are off on a Himalayan holiday. Will share more details soon πŸ™‚

  4. happy happy anniversary LS.. we are soul sisters when it comes to reading.. I am in the same situation as you including the no travel time to work but trying hard to fit in reading habit in daily schedule..
    woww you are trying so many new dishes.. post the recipe for sabudhana wada please..
    wishing you a wonderful vacation.. we have something exciting planned too but not sure if we will able to make it 😦 we will not know until the last minute due to M’s work pressure.. 😦

    • Thanks Ani for the wishes πŸ™‚
      Here’s hoping we are able to read more in the coming months πŸ™‚
      For the sabudana wadas: Soak sabudana for 4-5 hours. Drain all the water and mix with boiled and mashed potatoes. Add a handful of roasted and coarsely ground groundnuts, salt, finely chopped coriander leaves and green chillies and some lemon juice. Make balls of the mixture, flatten it a bit and deep fry in refined oil till golden brown. Another alternative is to bake the sabudana wadas but I didn’t try that πŸ™‚
      Hey and I really hope you are able to go for your vacation. I am still keeping my fingers crossed about our vacation πŸ™‚

  5. Belated wishes on your anniversary…hope you guys had a wonderful time πŸ˜€
    Eagerly waiting for vacation updates and wishing you get more reading time, starting today itself πŸ˜€

  6. Belated anniversary wishes to both of you (three of you) πŸ™‚
    Stay blessed and have a wonderful year ahead….

  7. Today is our 7th marriage anniversary. Almost 11 years of knowing each other and 7 years of married life out of which 2 years were spent staying apart in different cities I read this and then read it again… and all I have to say is “are you kidding me?” I mean this is exactly our story Lifesong…I’m amazed that there could be so similarity between our lives,we just met through blogs,don’t know each other quiet well…yet our lives match πŸ™‚

    me and Husby know each other since 11 years now,just completed 7 years of our married life early this month and have lived 2 years apart in different cities πŸ™‚ just so ditto,no?

    Hugs and wishing you guys,you 3 :), a very very happy 7th πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

