Updates and some Cheebu stories

We just returned from a lovely and much needed vacation from Darjeeling, Gangtok and Kalimpong. Before going, I was very anxious about the trip, but thankfully it turned out to be a nice and memorable vacation. I was worried because Cheebu has travel sickness while travelling by road for long time. She has this problem since she was 2 years old. On long road journeys she is uncomfortable and has strong vomiting tendency. And this holiday involved travelling on steep hilly roads which can sometimes make even a normal person sick. But I was happy to see thatΒ in spite of some problems she enjoyed the trip thoroughly, probably from the love to travel genes that she has inherited from me πŸ™‚Β Β Apart from this I was worried because the weather forecast before we started for the trip predicted heavy rains. In fact just a week before we were there, heavy rains caused landslides in Sikkim that left thousands of tourists stranded and cut off. Not very encouraging to hear such news before you start on a trip. But thankfully the weather was good, if not at its best during our stay there and we had a good time.

This was a trip of many firsts … For Cheebu, seeing snow for the first time, first yak ride…. Β For us river rafting for the first time. Yay! Yes, we did river rafting on river Teesta … one more of my dreams fulfilled πŸ™‚ River rafting is the second adventure sport I have tried after para sailing and we enjoyed it completely. Β Hubby wanted to do para gliding too, but we really didn’t have any time for it. I plan to do aΒ travelogue of the trip. So more details coming up soon..

Back home, it is very hot here and we are slowly getting back to routine. I have been Β trying to catch up all your posts that I missed during our vacation for the past couple of days and geting back to blogging regularly.

Leaving you with some Cheebu stories πŸ™‚

**************

Cheebu still sleeps with us in our room and now I have started preparing her to sleep on her own in another room.

Me: We will get you a bunk bed, then you can sleep in your own room.

Cheebu: (very enthusiastically) Ok, I will sleep up on the bunk bed and you can sleep down (on the lower bunk)Β :roll:

******************

During the trip, we bought a balloon for Cheebu which surprisingly lasted throughout the trip. Since we hadn’t taken any toy for her, that was the only thing she had for playing. During our day trips she would leave it in the hotel room with greatΒ assurances to the balloon that we will be back soon urging it not to cry. During journeys from one city to the otherΒ Β she would be so worried about its position, whether it is comfortable or not… Hubby was so amused to see this that he named the balloon “Balloonwati” (Remember “Bagwati” in the movie “ZNMD”) πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

******************

Cheebu loves to draw. She is imaginative and likes to use any color for anything… like green for the flowers. I keep telling her that flowers are not green. So during our recent trip, when we saw these…

Cheebu looked at me triumphantly “Dekha maine kaha tha na flowers green bhi ho sakte hain” (See, I told you flowers can be green also). And I had to take back my words πŸ™‚

******************

28 thoughts on “Updates and some Cheebu stories

  1. there goes my correct guess that you might be on a vacation…..yaayy to me πŸ˜€

    Wow LS…snow, rafting eh…you are ticking off your bucket list it seems πŸ™‚

    Come to think of it, I have not seen green flowers…post a pic na…

  2. Wow LS.. looks like you guys had an awesome trip.. πŸ™‚ Do post more details.. would love to know!

    Cheebu updates after long gap, loved it! So, Mommy gets to sleep on the floor is it? πŸ˜†
    if she is anything like me, she will not let go your hand (in sleep) even after 25yrs… cos, I still do it.. miss sleeping with my mom patting me to sleep everyday… 😦

    Kudos to her imagination… πŸ™‚ I have seen these flowers in Ooty as well.. looks very beautiful isn’t it?

  3. You had a vacation!!!!! And you tried river rafting there… How was that? I am more than eager to get all the information…..
    LOL on bunk bed and balloonvati πŸ˜€
    Were they really flowers?!?!? or some sort of plant that looks like flower???

    • River rafting was great πŸ™‚ You can even take Zini for rafting there after she is 3 πŸ™‚ More details coming up ..
      Can you see the pic?
      Well, I guess they are some cactus like plants resembling flowers.

      • I hope, we will be able to do the rafting with Zini….If you enjoyed rafting, then plan to do it on Ganga at Hrishikesh, i am not sure if Cheebu will be allowed there, but do plan to go there, if possible…
        Yeah, i can see the photo, why?

      • We wouldn’t have gone rafting if we had to leave Cheebu behind…Glad she was allowed πŸ™‚ . Rafting in Rishikesh is certainly on my wishlist… will certainly try there when Cheebu is a bit older πŸ™‚
        I asked about the photo bcause Visha said she couldn’t see it 😦

  4. aha… lovely vacation… πŸ™‚ and Cheebu is one smart girl… loved the naming of balloon and green flowers…. cute doll…

    • You have been trekking to Sikkim. How wonderful! πŸ™‚ Beautiful place, isn’t it?
      And you have that plant in your garden. Wow! I am impressed by your love for gardening πŸ™‚
      Travel updates and pictures coming up soon πŸ™‚

  5. Hi lifesong πŸ™‚

    Enjoyed reading this thoroughly πŸ™‚ cheebu is a darling. I could almost picture a cutiepie smiling victoriously and proving you wrong, I love it when kids go non conventional with colours. Makes me feel like attaching metaphors to it πŸ™‚

    Lol at balloonwati.

    And do share more travel experiences if possible. Always a joy to read about travels πŸ™‚

  6. Waiting to read the travelogue and Cheebu is one smart kid πŸ™‚

    Do post some pics of that area. I have doen rafting once and it was one hell of an experience. In our case we had gone to Manali and told the guy that since it is very cold please see that we are splattered with much water and he told us “not to worry madam this dry water rafting”, rest as they say is history πŸ˜€

  7. whoa I’m yet to do para sailing/ gliding and river rafting…I’m gathering courage πŸ˜‰

    thank god Cheebu enjoyed the trip πŸ™‚

    lol @ balloonwati πŸ™‚ aww @ cheebu telling the balloon to not cry,she is cute re πŸ™‚

    gosh these children I say…green flowers mil hi gayi mummy πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› ab bolo!

    • I enjoyed para sailing and river rafting though I am scared to go for para gliding … but you never know πŸ˜‰
      Ya, even I am glad Cheebu enjoyed the trip. She loves to travel πŸ™‚ and I am happy about that
      Oh! she was total nautanki with “balloonwati” πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
      Green flowers mil hi gaye… and now when she colors one petal red, another yellow, green, blue of the same flower, I am scared to tell her that such multicolored flowers do not exist πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  8. Wow. Looks like you are busy ticking off items from your bucket list. πŸ™‚

    Would love to read more in detail about your travel experiences.

    LOL @ Balloonwati. Presence of mind!

    Awwww @ ‘You can sleep on the lower bunk’. πŸ™‚ So cute!

    Let the flowers be green, lady. πŸ™‚ Kids are wonderfully imaginative, and you never know where their imagination might lead to. A little bit of nurturing the imagination could do wonders. πŸ™‚

    • River rafting was there on my wishlist for a long time. Glad we could do it πŸ™‚
      I have learnt my lesson after the green flower episode πŸ™‚
      Now I don’t mind even multicolored flowers πŸ™‚
      Agreed with your views on nurturing the imagination πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

