What’s cooking?

The rains are here. One afternoon when it is raining heavily, Cheebu-Daddy duo make plans of going down and getting drenched in the rains πŸ™‚ While they are at it, enjoying the rains I make some hot onion-potatoΒ pakoras with adrak chai. A perfect rainy afternoon πŸ™‚

Talking of rains, how can you forget roasted Bhutta (Corn on the Cob) with nimbu and namak. We also make another variation of the corn … Corn in tamarind sauce. This is hubby’s speciality, he makes this πŸ™‚ It is yummy and literally has to be slurped and eaten πŸ™‚ Again perfect for a rainy afternoon with hot adrak or masala chai πŸ™‚

And finally the Mixed veg stir fry … I learnt this from the very sweet Visha. She posted the recipe for Capsicum sizzlers that she had made. It was so simple to make and so tasty that I instantly fell in love with it πŸ™‚ Yesterday, I made this with a variation… along with capsicum I also added finely chopped carrots, cabbage and boiled sweet corn. The end result was so colorful, healthy and yummy. This is going to be a regular at our home now πŸ™‚ Thank you Visha for this lovely recipe πŸ™‚

27 thoughts on “What’s cooking?

  1. onion pakora and rains, I love them!

    Am so glad that the dish turned out yummy. You have modified it to become healthy too. Thank you for this new recipe – mixed veg stir fry πŸ˜‰

  2. Wow, everything looks so yummy!!! πŸ™‚

    Adding cabbage and corn to the capsicum sizzler is such a nice idea, LS!! I will try that out sometime! Did you add anything else apart from the salt and chilli powder?

    And that corn in tamarind sauce looks slurpilicious!! I would love to try it out sometime. Could you share the recipe please?

    • Thank you TGND πŸ™‚
      For the sizzler recipe besides the salt and chilli powder I added a bit of coriander powder also.
      Will share the recipe of Corn in tamarind sauce soon πŸ™‚

  3. Wow, this looks so yummy and pakodas on a rainy day are so perfect πŸ™‚
    you guys are enjoying big time. I think, i’ll have to try this version of capsicum sizzler as Zini likes corns too πŸ™‚

    • Pakodas and rainy day are perfect combination, hai na? πŸ™‚
      Zini likes capsicum? Shall I send Cheebu over to her to give her some eating lessons πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

      • Zini giving eating lessons!!! She would stop Cheebu from having anything 😦
        But you guys are most welcome, probably both the girls may start eating to impress each other (Normally happens with Zini) πŸ˜‰

      • Now that’s a good idea πŸ˜‰ . Eating to impress… happens with Cheebu too πŸ™‚
        At least Zini can teach her to eat capsicum. Everytime I make capsicum, I get a big lecture from Cheebu

  4. My all time favorite would be corn on the cob.. I just love it.. I have never tried the tamarind sauce one.. I like the buttery salt one πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ pakoras are not my fav.. basically anything that is oily.. but your pic has left me drooling.. πŸ˜€

    • These pictures (except for the pakoda) are actually good for you Smita πŸ™‚
      Both the corn in tamarind sauce and mix veg stir fry are very healthy and can be eaten during dieting πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  5. Woaaaaaaaaaaaah, looks very yummilicious lifesong πŸ™‚
    Visha’s recipewith the modification looks yummy πŸ™‚ also, loved the corn in tamarind. Pls pls share the recipe πŸ™‚ I love each dish you have posted πŸ™‚
    And Cheebu darling got wet in the rain with dad? She is so so cute πŸ™‚ Soon, all of us will start liking her more than you πŸ˜›

    • Thank you Kismi πŸ™‚
      Will update the post with the recipe soon πŸ™‚
      Ya, she has been pestering us to get wet in the rains ever since rains arrived and finally daddy had to oblige πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
      Lucky Cheebu to get so much love from all of you πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  6. deadly combination sweetie..rains and yummy food!! sigh…and you putting only pictures 😦 send some here too.. we too have rains splashing us left right and centre πŸ™‚

    • Hey you are such a good cook yourself… I am still drooling over the yummy food pics you posted some time back πŸ™‚
      But in case you are here sometime do come over… will make all this and more for you πŸ™‚
      It is raining there too? Hope Chirpy is enjoying πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  7. It’s too hot with no rains at my end….but I am super tempted by those pics, please send some rains over while I indulge in your yummy recommendations πŸ˜€

  8. I am reminded of the good old days at home… A hostel dweller at present, so never get to experience such fresh bites with the seasons… But the view of it makes me glad and filled and I am reliving those days at home…

    • Hey Daffodil, welcome here πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
      Awww.. I can understand the pain in staying in hostel wrt food. Hope you are able to make a trip home soon and indulge in home made food πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

