North East trip – Day 4

Continued from Part 1, Part 2 and Part 3

Day 4 – Gangtok local sightseeing

The day dawned nice and clear with the sun shining brightly. The good weather put us all in good spirits and we were ready after breakfast by 9:00 am for local sight seeing in Gangtok.

While waiting for the taxi to arrive, we saw this creature.

Cheebu was sure that it was a dragon πŸ™‚Β Having seen so many dragons the previous day, she had an impression that this place is full of dragons πŸ™‚

Gangtok, the capital of Sikkim Β is a beautiful city with Β colorful buildings.

I would love to live in a house like this πŸ™‚

We visited the main tourist destinations of Gangtok which included waterfalls,Β monasteries, temples and some view points and the flower show.

Our first destination was Bakthang falls…

with a beautiful waterfalls and a garden overlooking the valley

We then visited the Tashi view point, a place with amazing views of the city and aΒ souvenir shop that sold such cute and colourful things… I loved them so much that I took a few pics. Loved those masks, colorful dragons and pencil stands and those karate kids are the cutest πŸ™‚

We then went to another waterfall (where Cheebu enjoyed in the water) and Ganeshtok, a beautiful ganesh temple with great views again.

In Gangtok, we actually saw lots of local women dressed up in the kimono.

We also saw some school girls wearing kimono as school uniform.Β Isn’t that cool Β πŸ™‚ Β I would Β have loved to have a kimono as school uniform πŸ™‚ and so would Cheebu πŸ™‚

And how could Cheebu not wear the kimono and get herself clicked like a Japanese doll? πŸ™‚

She loved the fan…

We saw the flower exhibition at Gangtok that had such lovely flowers which we had never seen before. Have a look at the pictures we clicked πŸ™‚

All so pretty πŸ™‚ We had taken our old camera as backup, incase the batteries of our present camera got exhausted (Yes, we like to take that many pictures πŸ™‚ ) and Cheebu was allowed to use this under our supervision. So, here you see her clicking like a true photographer πŸ™‚ She can take decent pictures now and we are glad to have someone take our couple pics that had become a rarity for the past few years πŸ™‚

We also visited some monasteries. I have always been fascinated byΒ monasteries. In fact, as a child I had wanted to visit the North East only for seeing the monasteries. I have seen a few Buddhist centres like Sarnath, Sanchi, Bodh Gaya… but none of them had monasteries. So this trip was also the fulfilment of an old dream of seeing a monastery. And I was not disappointed by what I saw and what I had imagined. The Buddhist monasteries that I saw were every bit of what I had imagined, very peaceful and calming.

The sight of the Dharma chakras (prayer wheels) and the sounds of chanting of Buddhist hymns does have a very soothing effect on you.

We also saw a place lit by hundreds of lamps in all these monasteries creating a very serene and divine atmosphere. Another thing we noticed was that the Buddhists offer everything right from biscuits to cakes as offerings to the God. I found this interesting and nice πŸ™‚ The institute of Tibetology had an interesting collection of articles and information related to Buddhism.

The weather was perfect during the day and it rained only towards the end when we were travelling to our last destination – theΒ Β Ban Jhakri Waterfalls. But luckily it cleared up when we reached there. This place was an absolute delight. We could not step into the waters here as the force of the water was very strong, but it was a nice place with bridges over the streams and picturesque gardens.

Another dragon πŸ™‚

With this we concluded our sightseeing of Gangtok. In the evening, after resting for a while at the hotel we headed to MG Road again and spent a nice evening eating ice creams and sweets, just wandering on the streets and enjoying the cultural programs Β and finally after dinner went back to the hotel. The next day was an excursion to Tsomgo lake which is at a height of 12400 feet. We wanted to be ready fresh and early for the trip and hence went to sleep early.

Will post about that in the next part πŸ™‚

26 thoughts on “North East trip – Day 4

  1. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful Gangtok you have captured and presented to us πŸ™‚

    I loved all the waterfalls and Cheebu in kimono is pretty πŸ™‚

    Hope we too get to visit a monastery some day!

    Waiting for your next post…

    P.S Also waiting for the answer to your previous post πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you Visha πŸ™‚
      Yes, I hope you get to visit a monastery someday soon πŸ™‚
      I hope to write the next post in the weekend hopefully πŸ™‚
      P.S Have disclosed the answer to the previous post πŸ™‚

  2. me likes! me likes! me likes! πŸ˜€

    All the pics are totally totally awesome.. Cheebu is such a cutie cutie pie πŸ™‚ loved the komino costume on her.

    I am eagerly waiting for the next part LS πŸ™‚

  3. You are making me crave for a vacation to the North-east now. πŸ™‚

    Cheebu looks super cute in that costume! And I would have loved to have a kimono as my school uniform too! How cute is that! πŸ™‚

    Did you buy anything at the souvenir shop?

    The flower pics are amazing. So many of them are so different – haven’t spotted them anywhere!

    LOVE the pic of the chameleon (is that what it is?) It has come out very well. πŸ™‚ It really does look like a dragon.

    Oh, we find it very difficult to get couple pictures too while only the both of us are travelling. πŸ™‚ Good you have Cheebu to click as many couple pics as you want. πŸ™‚

    • Plan your vacation to the NE soon πŸ™‚
      I just loved the idea of Kimono as school uniform πŸ™‚
      Na, I didn’t buy from that souvenir shop, but I did buy a couple of small dolls in local dress from elsewhere πŸ™‚
      Yes, that’s a chameleon πŸ™‚
      Indeed, we have a very willing photographer in Cheebu to click our pics now πŸ™‚

  4. Cheebu is looking like a doll in kimono. I actually loved the first pic so much that I went back to the top to see it again. She is standing so adorably.

    Special mention for the flowers pics too. Really nice πŸ™‚

  5. Beautiful pictures! Gangtok is such a lovely place!!
    Loved those flowers..so colourful !
    Cheebu looks lovely in that kimono ..Kimonos as uniforms must be nice and warm I think πŸ™‚
    budding photographer Cheebu is it..so nice of you to let her use the camera..S wanted to once..we did let her, but were so scared as it is the only one we have..
    Off to the previous parts now..

    • Thank you Nithvin. Yes, Gangtok is a nice place πŸ™‚
      Initially, even we were scared to let her use the camera. But we make it a point that she uses only under our supervision with the camera strap in her wrist so that it doesn’t fall down.

  6. Wow lovely shots !! We had been there for our honeymoon πŸ™‚ The monastery an dthe flower exhibition….thanks for sharing this !!!
    Cheebu is just chhhooooooo chweeeeetttt !!!

    • Thank you Aame πŸ™‚ You went to Sikkim for your honeymoon!! It must have been a lovely experience… how I wish I had gone there for mine πŸ˜‰ It is such a beautiful place πŸ™‚
      Thanks πŸ™‚

  7. Relived our memories of the trip we made some years ago to Sikkim too πŸ™‚
    Gorgeous place and wonderful people.
    I luved the Karate kids too and Cheebu looks like a very serious photographer in that one. Cheers to her!

    • Hey Swaram, good to see you here πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Welcome πŸ™‚
      I have read about your trip to Sikkim in your blog. Yes, truly heaven on earth πŸ™‚ with great people πŸ™‚
      Thank you, she loves clicking photos πŸ™‚

  8. Lifesong, such a lovely account and wonderful snaps !
    Cheebu looks adoooooooorable in the first snap – I kept osho-ing her πŸ™‚ and she kiosk ultra cute in the kimono and also the snap that has just her legs in the slacks. I love clicking kiddo and baby parts in close up and their every little capture is so brimming with innocence, no ?
    Monasterry and souvenir shop and all wow ! You got yourself a fab holiday, no ?
    North eastern part holds a lot of charm and we want to go there one day too πŸ™‚
    Awaiting the next part eagerly πŸ™‚

    • Thank you Kismi πŸ™‚
      I too love clicking pics of kids πŸ™‚ though getting them to pose is a pain. The best pics are captured natural.
      Yes, a truly fab holiday packed with lovely memories πŸ™‚
      I hope you get to visit the NE someday… it is a great place πŸ™‚
      I am still writing the next part… too many pics to sort from πŸ™‚

  9. My first time here. Hopped over from Aparna\’s blog. Your post/pics reminds me of her travel posts! I love these kind of posts. Especially travel to these kind of places which I feel is only going to happen in my dreams! When ever we visit India it will be some 2 or 3 week trip. No time for NE vacation etc at least as of now. I just loved reading about your trip to Gangtok and the pictures are lovely. Gave us a glimpse of life there. How interesting. Kimonos for uniforms. Gosh I so wish I could just travel to every nook and corner of India! Your daughter looks so cute in the kimono. I blog as wondernoon but finally I seem to have had some success in creating a wordpress account (I am still bugged that wordpress won’t let blogspot users comment) just so I can comment on wordpress blogs.

    • Hey welcome here πŸ™‚ I am so glad you came over and commented πŸ™‚
      I am glad you enjoyed reading about our Gangtok trip πŸ™‚
      I understand what you are saying that you get no time for vacations in India when you come here only for limited time with so many people to meet.
      I hope someday you get to travel all over India πŸ™‚
      I guess Blogspot and wordpress are not always compatible. I too had difficulty commenting on blogspot till recently when I figured out how to with great difficulty. Thank you for taking time to comment and hope to see you around πŸ™‚

  10. Lovely pictures, I have never been to north eastern states, would love to go there, Now reading this Sikkim is on my top list. Cheebu looks so cute and looks like you all had so much fun.

Leave a Reply

