A working day of my life

This post is inspired after reading Aparna‘s post here. I thought it would be a good idea to record a working day in my life here and it would be fun reading about how hectic my life was when I am retired and have lots of time at hand πŸ™‚ So here it is …

6:30 am: Wake up and after finishing my morning chores rush to the kitchen. Put the milk for boiling, soak the dal, chop the veggies, knead the dough if needed, make tea for hubby and me … in short start with the cooking for the day.

6:45 am: Start waking up Cheebu. If we start now we will be lucky if she wakes up by 7:05-7:10 πŸ™‚ This involves cuddling with her, tickling her and if she is in a mood to wake up early spend a minute with her looking out from the balcony…. I initiate and then hubby takes over πŸ™‚

7:15-7:30 am: Hubby gets Cheebu to brush, bathe… while I am ready with her milk, the dal is in the pressure cooker, sabzi is getting cooked, rice is in the microwave and I am making the rotis for hubby and my lunch and a paratha for Cheebu’s tiffin box.

By 7:30 am: Β Cheebu is done with her milk (after lot of shouting) and potty and is being bathed by hubby. Her tiffin is packed and I take over her from hubby to help her with dressing up for school. This is the 15 minutes that I spend with her talking and discussing about her day.

7:50-8:30 am: Cheebu is ready to leave for school. Hubby goes to drop her. This is when I get a couple of minutes of time to sit down for a bit and then rush back to the kitchen to wind up my cooking. I pack all the lunch boxes… Β fruit, milk and evening snacks for Cheebu apart from her lunch. All this goes into various bags. Hubby is back by around 8:05 am after dropping Cheebu to school.

8:30-9:30 am: Bathing, having breakfast and getting ready for work. The domestic help also arrives at this time. Breakfast is usually bread or poha and is fixed by either hubby or me, whoever has time.

By 9:45 am: I Β leave for work. In between drop Cheebu’s bag at her daycare.

It is a blessing that I live so close to my work place, so there is no commuting time. Cheebu’s school and daycare are just about a couple of minutes drive from my home on way to my workplace. So a lot of time that could have been wasted in travelling is saved. Cheebu’s school gets over at 10:30 am and she along with the other kids is picked up by her daycare teachers.

6:15-6:30 pm: Hubby collects Cheebu from daycare and the two of them come to pick me up at my office gate and we finally reach home at around 6:30 pm.

Since I finish most of my cooking in the morning, I only have to make rotis for all of us at this time and wash the tiffin boxes for the next day. So evenings are family times. I never bring any work home. Dinner is around 8-8:30 pm after which we go for a walk if the weather is clear.

9:30 pm: Milk for hubby and Cheebu and brush and change time. By 10:00 pm max. Β Cheebu is supposed to be in bed.

So, this is the current routine and we are all used to it. But of course this routine goes for a big toss when hubby is travelling for work and I have to manage everything, but we survive πŸ™‚Β Till March this year, Cheebu would leave for daycare along with me at around 9:30-9:45 am, as her school was at 11:00 am. But now with morning school, she spends around 10 hours away from home 😦 . This is a thing that both hubby and I worry about, but can’t do much about it at the moment. Also there is no work from home option at my workplace. But hopefully a year from now, I hope to shift my work timings early by a couple of hours so that I leave for work along with her when she goes to school and will be back home before 5:00 pm in the evening. That way I’ll get more time with her. Fingers crossed. Will update this space again next year.

24 thoughts on “A working day of my life

  1. Hey looking at your working day, i feel as if i am lazing around!!! you do so many things and wake up at 6.30 am, even in winters?!?!
    Hope you get to the work timings of your choice, all the best πŸ™‚

    • There are no winters in Mumbai ZM πŸ™‚ I am sure your day is packed with much more things than mine with Zini around πŸ™‚
      To change my work timings, I have to successfully wrap up some of my work. Hopefully by next year πŸ™‚

  2. I just fall sick, with only two of us around LS – I cant stand the work-home-work-home tension at all. I don’t know how I will manage things in future.

    Hats off to both of you, for managing everything so well. As I say, you are an excellent mom to spend time with your kid during weekends, giving in for her arty side πŸ™‚ On the other hand, isn’t Cheebu the sweetest and nice child? She is really adjusting and co-operating with you guys πŸ™‚

    I wish you get the WFH option or change of timings soon πŸ™‚

    • You will manage very well GB. Trust me. Even i used to think how I will manage when I joined back work after Cheebu. But things do fall in place gradually πŸ™‚
      Well there is no WFH option at my work place. So change of timings… hopefully next year πŸ™‚

  3. Jam packed day . πŸ™‚ Though I also wake up at the same time and cook for lunch in the morning itself but that’s because I want more time for my work. I also liked the template.

  4. Ah, that sounds packed.. Thankfully, as you say, you live close to your workplace and there is no time wasted in commuting. My life went crazy when I was commuting 50 km every day to and from work. 😦 Health, food, sleep, everything went for a toss.. I couldn’t take it any more and got a WFH approved from my boss. I have been working from home since April this year, and it is much much better, though things are still hectic at work. πŸ™‚

    Hope you find a solution too, soon. πŸ™‚

    • You were travelling 50 km everyday!!! I am so glad you could get the WFH option πŸ™‚
      Staying close to work is a huge blessing, Seriously. πŸ™‚ And Cheebu’s daycare and school being so close is a big convenience too. That is why I manage to remain sane πŸ™‚

    • Hehe Getting Cheebu ready for school is pretty much like in TZP πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
      I am sure your schedule must be even more hectic with commuting to work added.

  5. Super mom, you inspire me!
    Touchwood for Cheebu being so understanding πŸ™‚
    I wish Cheebu gets more time to spend with her parents in the near future!

    • Arre, No super mom Visha πŸ™‚ There are so many mom’s who have even a more hectic schedule than this.
      Thank you for your good wishes πŸ™‚
      Incidentally, Hubby was at home today and he decided to pick her up from school and the two of them are enjoying at home while I am slogging here 😦

      • Let it be, you are one whom I know, so you are super-mom πŸ™‚

        Just a bit more time for the day to end, then long weekend ahead!! Cheer up πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

