Walking in the Rain

Every evening after work, I usually walk down from my place of work to the gate. It is about 15 minutes walk. Some days back, as I came out of the building, it started raining very heavily. Now if you have ever experienced Mumbai rains, you will know what heavily means… an umbrella is only aΒ psychologicalΒ comfort, it does not save you from the rain. On days such as these, I usually take the office bus, but that day I decided to walk back in the rains… with the umbrella of course πŸ™‚ … and I am so glad that I did, for walking in the rain brought back so many lovely memories. I have lived so long in Mumbai that I have a LOVE-hate relationship with the rains here … more love than hate… and most of the hate has been in the past few years because I now have a young child that keeps falling sick in the rains 😦

As a child I remember going to school wading in knee deep waters. As kids it was so much fun… we didn’t care if the water was dirty… it was always so much fun holding hands and splashing through the rain water in our raincoats. I also remember the joy of waiting in the bus stop for our school bus which would not turn up on some days because of the very heavy rains. Such sudden rainy day holidays were always welcome πŸ™‚

During the years that I was not in Mumbai, I always missed the Mumbai rains. Β And some years later when I came back to Mumbai, I found that the rains here had still not lost their charm on me even though I was not a child any more πŸ™‚ I still remember walking back home in the rains, going out with my friend forgetting our umbrellas only for the sake of getting wet πŸ™‚ , coming back home to enjoy a big cup of hot adrak chai πŸ™‚ it was so much fun πŸ™‚

Then after marriage, I remember walking in the rain with hubby under a single umbrella with his one arm around me and the other trying to balance the umbrella in the stormy weather πŸ™‚

Now, of course when it rains, the person that is most excited is Cheebu πŸ™‚ and my excitement has been subdued by fears of her ear and throat infections, viral fevers and so on… but nevertheless I love to Β see her enjoying in the rains. And on that particular day when I went back walking in the rains, I found Cheebu and hubby waiting for me at the gate. It was drizzling lightly by the time I reached. Cheebu had her head out of the car trying to catch the raindrops and she was singing this

Pitter patter pitter patterΒ 

little drops of rain

Pitter patter pitter patterΒ 

On my window pane

Welcome welcomeΒ little rain drops

water on the road and on the tree tops

Brought a big smile on my face πŸ™‚

And here is some of my favorite music for the rains…

This is an instrumental by HariPrasad Chaurasia and Shiv Kumar Sharma from the album Water. I find it very soothing and romantic. Simply love it πŸ™‚

And this song for me is synonymous with Mumbai rains. During the years when I was not in Mumbai, just watching this song made me yearn for Mumbai πŸ™‚

So what is your favorite rain song?

25 thoughts on “Walking in the Rain

  1. Beautiful post LS πŸ™‚

    I only liked watching the rains. Only very ocassionally, I felt like getting myself wet and even then, my mom used to get me inside the house as quickly as possible for I had a very low immunity 😦 *She continues to do it even today* gah!

    But I too have so many fond memories with rain and some not so good. It rained cats and dogs yesterday in B’lore and I was taken aback to those memories. Today, this post has only increased my urge to share my experience – will do a post πŸ™‚

    Cheebu is so cute!! Some day, I wish to hear her sing πŸ™‚

    • I can so understand your mom getting you inside the house when it rains πŸ™‚ I do that to Cheebu too πŸ™‚ Moms always worry about their kids falling sick.
      Waiting for your post to read about your rain experiences πŸ™‚
      Sure, We would love to meet you in person someday and then we can ask Cheebu to sing πŸ™‚

  2. Yeah walking in the rain with umbrella then reach home have a cup of hot ginger tea…bliss πŸ™‚
    Glad cheebu too enjoys rains..and the videos are all blocked here 😦

    • Thank you Sia πŸ™‚
      I am glad you liked that instrumental, I absolutely love it πŸ™‚
      Rains, hot cup of tea with pakoras and a nice music playing – Bliss indeed πŸ™‚
      Hopping over to read your post now πŸ™‚

  3. Even though i absolutely loved your post and felt the charm of it. I must confess I hate rains. Living in this country where it rains pretty much through out the year, i dread going out. I hate it when i see the weather forecast. But thats me. 😐
    Hope you get to enjoy many more beautiful days …

    • Thank you πŸ™‚
      I can understand your feelings towards rains living in a place like that where it rains so much. Even I would start wishing for rains to go away if it rained so much. We do need sunny days too πŸ™‚ But it is ok here since it rains only for a few months and brings us respite from the heat πŸ™‚

  4. my rain song is from the movie” Mouna Ragam” ( tamil). thats a beautiful song where actress plays in water enjoying her freedom.. i too love to walk in rain with hubby under single umbrella.. yes now scared of getting wet with bunty around.. things change with time, but not the want to continue it na..

    • I am not much familiar with Tamil songs … but it sounds good from your description πŸ™‚
      Ya so agree with you “things change with time, but not the want to continue it na” πŸ™‚

    • You listened to it? πŸ™‚ Beautiful, isn’t it?
      Oh nowadays even I like to watch from the window with hot chai and pakoda. Only this walk in the rain brought back some old memories πŸ™‚

  5. That must have been the cutest sight-Cheebu peeping out of the window and singing πŸ™‚
    It looks like most of us have a love-hate relationship with the rains, me included πŸ™‚

  6. Beautiful post, LS. Brought back many fond memories. I should probably do a post about it, too. πŸ™‚

    I have a love-hate relationship with rains, too. πŸ™‚

    Never heard the instrumental music from Water before. It is so tranquil and soothing. Thanks for putting it up!

    I have loads of songs that I love to play when it is raining. Some of them actually feature rains in the video. Some of them:

    1. Kabhi toh nazar milao
    2. Pyaar hua ikraar hua
    3. Tu kahaan yeh bata (used to call out to my future husband on rainy nights before marriage :P)
    4. Aankhon se tune yeh kya keh diya
    5. Ik ladki bheegi bhaagi si
    6. Bole re papihara
    7. Main pyaasa tum saawan
    8. Teri do takiya ki naukri mein (I still sing this song to irritate the OH when he is away from me on rainy days :P)
    9. Rooth na jaana tumse kahoon toh
    10. Inhe dekh kar jee rahein hai sabhi
    11. Pee loon
    12. Tere bin main yun kaise jiya

    Ah, the list is endless! OK, I will shut up now! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you TGND and I would love to read your post about rains πŸ™‚
      I am so glad you liked that instrumental from Water πŸ™‚
      I love your list… most of them are my favorites too πŸ™‚

  7. When I had shifted to Mumbai I had liekd the rains but then after it rained continuously for some days the glamour was lost. I like rains but only upto a limit and that too when I am sitting inside πŸ˜€

    But ur post makes the rain look beautiful πŸ™‚

    Fav rain song???

    Hmmmmmmm sawan barse tarse dil….:)

    • I know what you mean … Some of my best memories of Mumbai rains are from my childhood… now of course when it rains I prefer to enjoy indoors with a hot cup of tea … except sometimes maybe a trip to Khandala or some such place πŸ™‚
      Saawan barse … is my favorite too πŸ™‚

  8. I love walking in the rains with an umbrella. During school days, when the rains were just too good to miss, I wont put the raincoat while cycling back to home πŸ˜›
    Rains outside + music inside = bliss πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

