A Princess cake for my princess

Yes, that is what I did this weekend.. made a Princess cake for Cheebu. Cheebu has been asking me for a long time for a princess cake for her birthday. Normally, with my limited baking skills and even more limited decorating skills, I would have never thought of making it at home and would have looked for it at the bakery. But then reading through Smitha’s archives, I came across thisΒ one day and I decided to give it a try. I wasn’t prepared to take the risk of making it directly on her birthday, so decided to try making it beforehand to see if I could make it. And, so I made it this weekend and this is how it turned out πŸ™‚

Β To tell you the truth, even when I started making it, I wasn’t sure that I would be able to manage it. Firstly, because I was baking in a deep cake pan, so I was afraid that part of the cake would remain uncooked. Based on what I had read on the net I adjusted the baking temperature to a lower setting and increased the baking time and then waited with my fingers crossed. Out from the oven, the cake turned out to be nice, neither burnt anywhere nor uncooked anywhere. Having passed this challenge, the next one was to decorate the cake. Now, I have never done this before. I wanted to use fresh cream for the icing, but it wouldn’t stay so I went about using butter cream frosting and finally added some heart shaped sugar candies. The finishing is not very good and there is lot of scope for improvement but Cheebu was very happy with the result πŸ™‚Β She was thrilled to see it and kept saying “Wow!!!” all the time πŸ™‚

I don’t know if I am going to make this for her Birthday again, for it was too time consuming and arranging a party as well as making the cake will be quite difficult. But I loved making this and the way it turned out. What do you think?

39 thoughts on “A Princess cake for my princess

  1. It’s just gorgeous! So very pretty! No wonder Cheebu loved it! I made it a day in advance. As in, I made the cakes in batches, assembled and frosted it all a day in advance πŸ™‚ So yes, it does take time. But it is worth seeing the happiness on our lil one’s faces, isn’t it πŸ™‚

    • Smitha, you were the inspiration behind this πŸ™‚ I would have never dared to make such a cake if I had not read about it on your blog. Thank you so much.
      Oh yes, it was every effort worth it to see that smile on Cheebu’s face πŸ™‚
      Making the cake in advance? Hmm… Let me see if I can manage it.

  2. Hey, this looks great!!! You are so talented!!! I would never dare to make something so complicated!!! And Cheebu looks so happy that her supermom made her wish come true πŸ™‚
    If you are not happy with the butter cream frosting then you can try using the whipped cream. There are many brands available, some of them already sweet, so after baking the cake, you have to apply the whipped cream frosting directly for decoration and it also tastes yumm!!! My neighbour used it for her daughter’s b’day cake πŸ™‚

    • Well, it is not as complicated as it looks ZM. It was so overwhelming when I first thought about making it but seriously it is not so difficult and trust me if someone like me could make it, you would do a much better job πŸ™‚ So do give it a thought if and when Zini asks you for one πŸ™‚
      I have used whipped cream too, in fact that is the only icing I had used so far, but because of the sloping surface it was not staying for this cake. Butter cream frosting was much better and it tasted good too πŸ™‚

      • for butter cream frosting, I just used normal butter (I didn’t have unsalted one so used salted butter) at room temperature and beat it with powdered sugar(adjust the sugar to your likeness) till the mixture was was fluffy and soft. You can add some milk too to adjust the consistency if it is too thick. Quite simple and it tasted good too πŸ™‚

  3. Totally awesome LS!!! You have done a great job.. I am not sure if I would have tried making this, in the first place.. I know its very complicated. It has come out so good… I love the white and red combination. Its so lovely.. and I can go on and on I think πŸ™‚

    The pic with Cheebu and the cake is so cute.. I can already sense her excitement having a princess cake in the pic πŸ™‚

    Again, a job well done!! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you GB πŸ™‚ I too would have not thought of making this if Cheebu had not asked for it πŸ™‚
      Cheebu was thrilled to see it… so totally worth all the effort to make it πŸ™‚

    • Thank you AM πŸ™‚
      I used to bake cooker cakes during my student days…. have started baking after a gap of many years recently. I am enjoying it πŸ™‚ Do give baking a try … in a couple of years from now Bunty would love to bake with you πŸ™‚

  4. Gorgeous!!
    Very nice, Cheebu’s admiration for the cake is shining bright in her eyes, absolutely worth the effort. Loved the little heart shaped candies.
    You are an artist LS πŸ™‚

  5. It is so pretty LS…wah wah wah
    ok, the next time you make it, please ask Cheebu to click the pics from start to finish. A step by step tutorial is what I am gonna ask you after that πŸ˜›

  6. Lifesong,

    it is soooooooooooooooooooooooooo gorgeous! πŸ™‚ You have used such great colours and the dress is so pretty that i feel like wearing it ! Cheebu looks so happppyyyyyy hehehehehe

    I wonder if I’d be able to eat even a bit of it. It is so pretty! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

