Happy 5th Birthday!!!

My dear Cheebu,

It is a big day for us today. You turn 5 today πŸ™‚ How time has flown… It seems like not so long ago when you were Β a little baby and today you are my “big little 5 year old”. 5 years is a big milestone…. no more going to drink polio drops (though you are going to miss this πŸ™‚ ) and you move from drinking Bournvita Lil Champs to Bournvita for bigger kids πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

You are a very social person. Though shy in theΒ beginning,Β you make friends easily with other children. Our home has never been the same ever since you came into our lives. We have so many visitors now…. so many children … sometimes I think the house belongs to them πŸ™‚ You do have your share of fights but you mostly get along with most kids. You are sharing and caring and your friends love you.

At home, I can call you the tantrum queen but I am really surprised by the response that I get from other parents and grown ups about you… anything ranging from very responsible child to obedient child to divine child and ideal child (yes, these are the exact words I have heard from others). While I am happy to hear such good things about you, I often wonder why it is the opposite at home…. but I guess you are like any other kid with your mumma and papa πŸ™‚

You love listening to stories and telling stories. Here, you and your papa spend a lot of Β time together in story telling and making stories. You love to talk… yes even your teacher says that … you are very talkative in class πŸ™‚ With me, you love to discuss about our day at night just before sleeping. On some days you tell me about your day… what you did at school, daycare…. about your friends…. and then want to know about mine. You have a great memory and ask me questions about my work place remembering our older conversations πŸ™‚ You even know some technical terms about my work place… yes, that much interest you show in my work πŸ™‚ Both of us love this night time conversations… I think we should do this more often πŸ™‚

You love going to school and we are happy to see that you are doing well there. You are interested in learning and all the activities at school. You have moved from pre-prep to prep in this last year and the teacher says your confidence level has increased. You are very fond of your teacher and she loves you too. So far I haven’t had to sit with you for your school work apart from checking your progress at school. You sincerely do your homework whenever there is any. You even show interest in learning beyond what is taught in school. We do try to do that when you ask for it.

You are happy at your daycare too. You have some very good friends there who have been with you for a very long time… all of you have grown up together. Your daycare teachers and aunties are fond of you too. You do enjoy there, though you prefer staying at home if given a chance.

You are looking forward to calling all your friends home for the little B’day party that we have planned at home this weekend. This is one day that you look forward to the entire year and we do hope that you have lots of fun with your friends that day.

You have started with keyboard classes last month and are doing well there. The keyboard teacher is fond of you too πŸ™‚ and all praises for you. You love to draw, love doing arts and crafting activities with me.

You love watching cartoons and animated movies though we do try to restrict your TV time. You also love to play games on the computer and tablet thanks to your papa… but again that time is restricted.

I think you love cooking too, though I don’t allow you much in the kitchen when I am cooking but your papa does. Both of you pretend to be chefs on the TV (you are specially fond of the sardarji uncle of Turban Tadka on TV ) while cooking anything even if it is only tea πŸ™‚

You love singing too and we are happy to see that you have an ear for melodious songs. You try to learn the lyrics of any song you like and love to sing it. The most recent song that you have learnt is the bhajan “Achyutam Keshavam” and you love to sing it.

You love family times…. an unexpected holiday when we are all at home or just anytime when we are all together. You love to be cuddled and when I call you by the so many names that I have for you πŸ™‚

You always say “All the best” to me before leaving for school every morning πŸ™‚ . Whenever I get angry or scold you, you come to me and say “Mumma pyaar karo” You can’t bear me being angry with you.

Yesterday, I just asked you a few random questions. I think I would love to record these every year. I am sure you would enjoy reading these when you are older πŸ™‚ So for you…

Favourite colour: Pink, Red

Favourite dish: Dal Chawal & Kadhi Chawal

Favourite vegetable: Bhindi

Favourite fruit: Apple and pomegranate ((Though I think it is mango. I think you mentioned these fruits as this is what you are eating these days. You also like watermelon juice)

Favourite sweet: Gud (jaggery) πŸ™‚ (Yes, not chocolates or sweets πŸ™‚ )

Favourite Cartoon: Tom & Jerry

Favourite movie: Ice Age 4

Favourite toy: Poochi (Your soft toy dog)

Favourite place: Home

I have been asking you for the past many days what you Β want as gift for your B’day. You could have asked for anything you know…. but what did you want? “Mumma, get me chalk” πŸ™„ Yes, you heard it right. Β You wanted chalk as B’day present. And you say this every single time we ask you. So we got you chalks as B’day present πŸ™‚ and believe me you were so so happy…. such simple pleasures of childhood …. May you stay happy, healthy, cheerful and blessed always my dear. Papa and I love you so much and we will always be there for you. Keep smiling always my dear.

Wishing you a very Happy Birthday.

Lots of love,

Mumma

42 thoughts on “Happy 5th Birthday!!!

  1. Congrats to cheebu and you. Time surely flies by. I can totally relate to your astonishment at other’s perception of your child. The naughty, mischievous and tantrum throwing daughter suddenly becomes angelic and ideal in front of others. I am perplexed too. πŸ™‚

  2. Wishing cheebu a very happy birthday .May god bless you little angel.Good na her birthday is on ganesha chathurti this year πŸ™‚
    Am so with cheebu on favourite food list..same pinch cheebu

  3. A very happy birthday to Cheebu πŸ™‚
    This is a beautiful account LS, am sure when Cheebu will read this at a later stage she will be very happy πŸ™‚
    Chalks?? Isnt she the sweetest…so innocent and cute!!
    So party this weekend huh…whats on the menu??

    • Thank you Visha πŸ™‚
      I too hope that she will enjoy reading this when she is older πŸ™‚
      She was delighted with the chalks that we gave her as present for her B’day πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  4. a sweet post πŸ™‚ haapy birday cheebu πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ i wonder what you do with chalk πŸ™‚ keep smiling always πŸ™‚

  5. I had tears in my eyes – chalk….. I remember asking my parents for coloured chalk box as a present…..
    Cheebu, wish you a happy b’day darling πŸ™‚ I hope your mumma will show our wishes to you someday πŸ™‚
    I love Achyutam Keshavam and I used to listen to my ma sing it and was one of the first bhajans I learnt as well πŸ™‚
    Love you Cheebu baby! muah πŸ™‚

    • Wow! you asked for chalk too as present πŸ™‚ I thought Cheebu was the only wierd one πŸ˜‰
      Hey I will definitely show this blog to Cheebu someday and all the beautiful wishes and so much love that you guys shower on her πŸ™‚
      Thank you for all your good wishes Kismi πŸ™‚ Need I tell you how much I loved reading this comment πŸ™‚

  6. Happy birthday to the little-big girl! I love bday posts πŸ™‚
    It was so sweet for her to ask for CHALK!!! And Achyutam Keshavam is my fav song as well.
    Wish her a long happy life.

  7. A very Happy Birthday Cheebu…stay blessed, happy, healthy and smiling always πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Now am waiting for updates on what our little princess did with her box of chalk πŸ˜€

  8. happy happy bday Cheebu… I had tears in my eyes on reading this post.. the love in this post was the reason for those tears.. πŸ™‚
    I didn’t write a letter to Adi for her 5th bday but guess I can just copy this content.. almost all of them were the same with her..
    God bless you all..

  9. A very very happy b’day to Cheebu πŸ™‚ Wishing her loads and loads of happiness throughout!

    ps – did she ask for a chalk?! I have tears in my eyes!! *I am so happy for her*

  10. Awwww this is such a sweet letter, LS. I am so touched! Cheebu sounds like such a delightful kid!
    Chalk for birthday gift?! Wow! So simple her wishes are! πŸ™‚
    Awwww @ mumma pyaar karo. How sweet is that? Who can be angry with her after that?!

Leave a Reply

