Whatta Weekend!!!

Yes, a very hectic and tiring but nevertheless a very happy and memorable weekend it was πŸ™‚

Friday

We had planned a Birthday Party for Cheebu on saturday evening. Friday, back from work in the evening, I started with the preparations for the party. We had Ganpati at home, so first finished the Puja and arti and then I called up the parents of her friends to invite the kids for the party. We Β went to invite some kids who stay in our building personally. Back home we had a quick dinner and then I started baking her Birthday cakes…. yes, finally decided to make a princess cake for her B’day at home itself. I stayed up well past midnight baking a couple of chocolate cakes.

Saturday

Got up early as usual as Cheebu had school. Packed her off to school, had a quick breakfast Β and then started preparing for the icing of the cake while hubby rearranged the drawing room furniture to be able toΒ accommodateΒ 15 naughty kids for the party πŸ™‚ Most of the morning was spent in decorating the cake. After lunch, I started with making Puris and Chhole for the party as we had planned for a dinner party for the kids. I managed to make lots of Chhole and about 60 puris (I had no idea how much would beΒ sufficient, and I didn’t mind a bit extra. Turned out that the food was too much extra πŸ™‚ ) Hubby tried to get Cheebu to sleep a bit in the afternoon so that she would be fresh for the party but she was so excited that she hardly slept. So they spent the time blowing up balloons. Together they managed to blow around 100 balloons (with the pumpΒ of courseΒ πŸ˜‰ ) And then there was this last minute madness of decorating the room, getting ready ourselves before the guests started coming at 6 pm. Luckily, we managed just in time and the kids started coming in one by one. Cheebu was super excited at having her friends home πŸ™‚ I guess this is one day she looks forward to more than anything else the entire year. One Birthday party is hardly gone and she starts talking about the next one πŸ™‚ The kids sang, danced and played and greeted the other kids as they came. Most of the kids are friends from her daycare and have been together ever since they were a year old or so. So they had lots of fun and being very comfortable with each other since they are together all day they created a lot of noise. At one point it was very difficult for us to manage them. But then a friend of mine turned up at the right moment and between the 3 of us – hubby, me and her we tried our best. I am in awe of her day care teachers and staff who manage to stay with all these children without losing their sanity day in and day out. I would have gone mad for sure πŸ™‚ . The kids were delighted to see the princess cake and amongst many “WOW”s and “OOH”s we cut the cake πŸ™‚ . FinallyΒ the children sat for dinner. One of the parents had asked us to give warm water to the child as she had cold. As hubby gave her warm water, all the other kids wanted warm water πŸ™„ there was a chorus demand for warm water from all others and we had a tough time coping up. There was cake, chhole, puris, banana chips, rasgullas and fruity for dinner. But seriously, most of the kids didn’t eat much. Last year for Cheebu’s B’day we had only served cake and packed the other snacks to be eaten at home as we didn’t think we could feed 4 year olds. This year I thought they are probably older and will be able to manage eating dinner…. but turned out that it was not such a great idea 😦 . But all in all, it was a great party…. everybody enjoyed. The kids were sent back with their return gifts, chocolates and a bunch of balloons from the decorations on the walls πŸ™‚

The party over, Cheebu was too eager to open her gifts. We quickly cleaned up, did the pooja and arti for Ganeshji, opened her gifts and had our dinner. Again it was past midnight that I went to bed that day.

Sunday

Tired from the party, all of us got up late that day. I was relaxed as I would not have to cook that day…. there was so much food left over from the previous day πŸ™‚ AfterΒ breakfast, we started planning for watching “Barfi” We managed to get tickets for a post lunch show. So amongst thousands of questions thrown by Cheebu (Uncle ko bolna kyon nahi aata? Unhone seekha kyon nahin? Aunty uncle se Gussa kyon hain?………. ), we watched Barfi on Sunday afternoon. I LOVED the movie. It was such a sweet and lovely movie πŸ™‚ Hubby, who thinks all Bollywood movies are copied from Hollywood movies loved it too though he was sure it was inspired by some Hollywood movie…. and turned out that it was!! πŸ™‚ But I loved the movie…. I loved the little cute things in the movie, the wonderful performance by the actors, the music, the comedy…. in short everything. A must watch movie.

Evening we wanted to see some Ganpatis, but there was no time as we had to bid farewell to our own Ganpati at home. So back home, we did the Puja and immersion. We do a symbolic immersion and use the same idol every year. Our idea of being eco-friendly πŸ™‚ . A couple of Cheebu’s friends had dropped in, so among shouts of “Ganpati Bappa Morya” from them, we bid farewell to Ganeshji for this year asking him to come back next year. Leaving you with a picture.

24 thoughts on “Whatta Weekend!!!

  1. If I lived close by to your home, I would have asked you to parcel the extra food, no wastage, all happy πŸ˜‰
    Good to know that the party went well LS πŸ™‚

  2. Now where is the picture of the cake and Cheebu…. ?!?! I was eagerly waiting for the picture to not find one at the end 😦
    It really sounds like a great party and you managed to do a lot of cooking, kudos LS πŸ™‚
    I am hearing such good reviews abt Barfi.. I should bug S to book tickets, when we meet again πŸ™‚
    Ganeshji is too cute! I am the one to perform puja at my in-laws every year for ganesh Chathurdhi.. I too have a pic of my decoration this year, but its too south-indianized πŸ™‚

    • I will do a separate post on the B’day party and will share pics ok? πŸ™‚
      OH yes I cooked a lot πŸ™‚
      Barfi is definitely worth watching. Do watch it πŸ™‚
      Would love to see your South Indianized pic of Ganeshji. Please share na πŸ™‚

  3. that sounds like a wonderful weekend.. happy birthday to Cheebu once again.. Glad to know that she had so much fun and kudos momma for all the efforts you have taken for the party.. Princess cake is my list.. πŸ™‚

  4. That was some weekend! Birthday parties are exhausting especially when you do everything D-I-Y. But they are worth the hardwork:)Loved seeing uour Ganpati photos along with the nice big modak:)

  5. Lovely B’day party for Cheebu, eh? You made ‘ a couple of cakes’? too good you are Lifesong! πŸ™‚
    Even I learned S’s b’day party that kids don’t eat all that much as we think they might..and we also ended with lots of left overs..
    We also immersed Ganesha on Sunday

    • Thanks Nithvin πŸ™‚
      The princess cake demanded a couple of cakes…. hence had to make 2 of them πŸ™‚
      Yes, too much leftovers 😦 Next year maybe I’ll stick to packing them the snacks to have at home πŸ™‚

  6. Wow, that sounds like a super hectic weekend all right, but a fun one too! πŸ™‚
    At the OH’s house and back home at my parents’, we do a symbolic immersion of the Ganesha idol too. We use the same idol every year, too.
    You cooked so much and did all the decorations… one super mom you are! I don’t know if I would have lasted that long!

    • Yes, we like symbolic immersion πŸ™‚ It is eco friendly and time saving too πŸ˜›
      Looking back, I too think I took up too much upon myself – making the cake as well as all the food πŸ™‚ Maybe next year I’ll do only one of the 2 things πŸ™‚
      The decorations were done by all of us πŸ™‚

  7. pics please.. again happy b’day cheebu.. nice to read that she had a great day..
    too much of food, u should have parceled it re.. πŸ™‚
    yes, we are too Eco-friendly, we too use same Ganesha every year.. πŸ™‚

  8. Wow, seriously whatta weekend!!!!
    You packed in so much in this weekend and you did all the cooking and prep for the party!!! I am awed!!!!
    I too liked barfi, but then i watched English Vinglish and i liked it better πŸ™‚
    Do watch English Vinglish, if you get a chance πŸ™‚

    • Looking back, I too think I had taken up too much upon myself πŸ™‚
      I want to watch English Vinglish too. Have been hearing such good things about it. Lets see…

Leave a Reply

