Festive season :)

With the Navratris going on and Dussehra and Diwali approaching, this is undoubtedly my favorite time of the year. Add to it the approaching winters (not that we have much of it here in Mumbai anyway, but at least the weather is good πŸ™‚ ) that brings much respite from the hot and humid weather here, no wonder I am in good mood. The festive season starts from Ganpati celebrations itself and is at its peak at this time during the Navratris. Navratri and Dussehra are so much fun here in the place we live in, as we get to experience it in so many forms – we have the garba/ dandia, Durga Puja and finally the Dussehra celebrations with the burning of Ravana Β and a grand show of fireworks. And on Ashtami or Navami, Cheebu is sure to get at least one invitation from our neighbours for kanya puja. I remember, as a child Β I always enjoyed this. The prashad of puris, halwa and black channa was always so so yummy πŸ™‚ .

The best part about the these celebrations is that it is not limited to home and around, but we also have celebrations at office πŸ™‚ Each of the 9 days of Navratris are marked by a particular colour and most people women in my work place follow the colour code and come dressed in that colour for that day. So today I am wearing yellow and also packed a yellow dress for Cheebu for her daycare to be worn after school πŸ™‚ Even in office you can sense the festivities in the air when you see the ladies draped in their silk sarees in the colour of the day. Though I don’t Β wear sarees to work myself, I love to look at and admire them, their sarees so perfectly draped and the way they remain perfect even at the end of the day. On the last working day before Dussehra, we have the Dussehra Puja in all the departments in our office. People come to work dressed in their best, we have the arti and puja in the afternoon followed by a small party after that. At Cheebu’s daycare too they have garba/dandia on the last couple of days of Navratri and I pack her Chania-choli on those days. She is quite excited about it πŸ™‚

I am looking forward to the weekend to go out and see the garba/dandia and Durga puja in our colony and also to wearing a saree πŸ™‚ . Sharing with you some pictures from last years celebrations

Durga Puja

Cheebu watching dandia

Happy Navratris to you, my dear blog friends πŸ™‚Β So how are you celebrating Navratri and Dussehra?

30 thoughts on “Festive season :)

  1. In my society, the celebrations have started.. every night aarti and then dandia and garba…. though I don’t know how to do garba, I do go and watch them dancing with so much verve. πŸ™‚

  2. First things first LS – Wish you and your family a very happy Dushhera πŸ™‚ I loved reading abt all the different kinds of celebrations and those pictures are just so nice. Lovely drawing by Cheebu, I am glad you took a picture of it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    I am in Chennai already and everyday mom does a lot of pooja and I get to eat good prasadams πŸ˜€ Apart from that, we used to go to a temple every year, but this year with heavy rains and all that, we called off that part. I might go to temple sometime next week. I am looking forward for “Ayudha Pooja” – not sure if you guys have it there.. but for this day, we clean the house and do pooja for every other ayudh ( technically) and we put chandan kumkum on fridge, mixie, grinder, washing machine, TV, cycle, scooter, car and all tools πŸ˜€ Its to ensure they run smoothly through out the year.

    Looking at the pictures, I am reminded of the durga pooja celebrations arranged by the North Indian society that we used to go as kids. The place is quite far now.. but I am more than wishing to go there this year. Will update my blog on all these fronts πŸ˜€

    • I am sure you must be having a great time in Chennai πŸ™‚ I have heard about the Puja that you have mentioned but they call it Vishwakarma puja here. Would love reading about your Dussehra and Navratri celebrations πŸ™‚

  3. Happy festivities to you and your family! Have fun! πŸ™‚
    That is a super cute drawing of the ten heads. πŸ™‚ Good you took a snap of it.
    Here, where we stay, the festivities are pretty low key. In fact, there is not even a little sign of the festive season here, and that makes me very sad. I am desperately missing the Navratri in Ahmedabad – it used to be so gorgeous. Thinking of doing a post about it, actually.

    • I can understand about the lack of festivities in Banagalore during Navratri. My brother and SIL who stay there also say the same 😦 And Navratri in Gujarat… I am sure it is great …. I hope I get to see it someday.

  4. After reading about your society, am wishing if only I too lived in a similar set up. There are no celebrations here πŸ˜₯ πŸ˜₯ πŸ˜₯
    So happy to see the pics LS, am sure this year too it will be all the more enjoyable than last year.
    I used to LOVE the kanya puja back at my parents. The yummy halwa…wow..I would be on my toes since morning πŸ˜† I miss those days 😦

    • Awwww… Cheer up Visha. You come here next year and then we will all enjoy. Okay? πŸ™‚
      Cheebu was called for the Puja today and since she could not eat the entire prasad, I got to taste some too πŸ˜›

  5. This is the first time that I am reading about colour coordinated clothes during Navratri! Smita mentioned on her blog too! New trend??
    Happy Navratri to all of you! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

