What’s going on..

Plenty of things happening on my front. Just writing a few things here

We have been without a TV for more than a month now… No, no!! Our TV isn’t out of order… it is just that for Cheebu’s B’day party we had shifted the TV to a corner of another room … and it remains there still. We haven’t felt the need to put it on ever since ๐Ÿ™‚ I am happy to see that Cheebu doesn’t miss it at all. In all these days she has not mentioned even once to put it back or that she is missing her Chhota Bheem or other cartoons ๐Ÿ™‚ Even hubby doesn’t miss the regular stuff that he would watch. Strangely, its me (who hardly watched any TV) who is missing watching the cookery and travel shows that we used to sometimes watch during dinner time. Sigh!

That said, it is not that we are totally deprived of entertainment on the small screen. We are watching lots of movies on the computer. Cheebu gets to watch Lion King, Ice Age, Toy Story, Jungle book… at the rate of maybe a couple of movies per week (mostly on weekends) while hubby and me are watching all those movies that we never got down to seeing so far. I must say that I am enjoying this… watching movies at times that areย convenient and without ย any ad breaks. Some movies that I loved watching….. A walk to remember, 50 first dates, Theย descendants, A separation (Persian) … In fact, ย watching movies together is turning out to be one nice way of spending some time with hubby ๐Ÿ™‚ So, on most Friday and Saturday nights after Cheebu goes to bed we watch a movie ๐Ÿ™‚

I have also been reading … read some good books. I used to read a lot till Cheebu was born… did read a few books during my maternity leave too… but sadly had to stop reading almost completely after I rejoined work for total lack of time. I did resume reading a couple of years back …. but that was like maybe 1-2 books in 6 months. But then come blogging and I started reading so many book reviews.. and couldn’t resist ordering some books for myself ๐Ÿ™‚ So got myself The Kite Runnerย and A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini and needless to say enjoyed them thoroughly. I was so touched by these books that I actually read a lot about life in Afghanistan on the internet. I also watched the movie The Kite Runner and as in most cases found that the book is much better than the movie. More recently, I ordered The Twentieth Wife, Feast of Roses and ย Shadow Princess by Indu Sunderesan on Flipkart. I just finished The Twentieth Wife last weekend and can’t wait to read the other 2 books. I love historical fiction ๐Ÿ™‚ If only history at school was taught like this, it wouldn’t be so boring ๐Ÿ˜‰ ย I also reread Surely, you are Joking Mr. Feynmanย and What do you care what other people think by the famous physicist Richard Feynman based on anecdotes from his life. I am a big fan of Feynman and had read these books long back and finally bought my own copies of them ๐Ÿ™‚ In between, I also keep reading Jaya: an illustrated retelling of the Mahabharataย by Devdutt Patnaik. It is an interesting read about the Mahabharata, I learnt about many new things from the epic which I didn’t know before. I bought a couple of books Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl and Adventures of the Wishing Chair by Enid Blyton as gifts for my neice. Needless to say, I read them myself first over a weekendย ย ๐Ÿ™‚ I told Cheebu the story of the wishing chair and since then that book has become a favorite for her. Even though she can’t read yet, it feels so good to see her sitting with the book engrossed in the few pictures that are there in the book ๐Ÿ™‚

About my own reading, sadly I haveย realized that I can’t afford to read the way I always did …. you know, getting so engrossed in the book that I forget everything around me, don’t do a thing until I finish the book ๐Ÿ˜ฆ That is just not possible, now that I have a child ย who needs me around too. So I read a book and then take a couple of weekends break before starting on the next one.

For the past one month, I haven’t felt much like cooking…. Of course I do the regular stuff, that is unavoidable, but haven’t tried out any new recipe or anything unusual. Blame it all on the huge weight gain in the last few months ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I have gained at least 5 kgs in the past 6 months and I don’t know why ๐Ÿ˜ฆ True, I was baking a lot …. at one point almost a cake every week to perfect my cake recipe and then eating it too ๐Ÿ˜› … but otherwise I cant think of anything for this weight gain. And I do seem to be having problems due to this sudden weight gain. Dieting for losing weight is out of question… I know I can’t do that. So, now I am trying to eat healthy…. Also, I have joined a gym, but somehow haven’t got into a routine for it yet. After my first visit to the gym where I barely did anything besides warmup and some cycling, I had such a bad pain in my legs that I could not walk properly for 4 days. The second visit after almost a week was much better but now hubby is out of station and having so many additional responsibilities at home since he is not around, I am not able to find time for gym ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Hopefully it will fall into routine soon.

Apart from this Cheebu and me have been doing some crafts… but more about that in a separate post ๐Ÿ™‚ Next week Cheebu has a fancy dress at school. Last year she had gone as a pink robot. Any ideas/suggestions for what we can dress her up as this time?

14 thoughts on “What’s going on..

  1. Oh I had absolutely loved that Pink Robot. Does she have a theme for the fancy dress?
    That’s good that since you guys aren’t watching TV you are getting time to catch up on books and movies ๐Ÿ˜€
    I have heard a lot of positive reviews about Indu’s books, will get hold of these soon ๐Ÿ™‚
    Don’t panic with the aches and pains work out gives, they’ll soon disappear if you will attend the gym regularly. Good luck ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. LS… how are you guys managing without TV?!?!! I know everyone of us can avoid.. but it just doesnt happen at all.. though its an idiotic box (as my hindi teacher always pointed).. I has to be switched ON for me! Now that I am alone, thats my only companion ๐Ÿ™‚ Great that Cheebu is also not asking for it.. its really good in a way.. you would get to spend more quality time!

    We too love watching movies, from the computer.. its just a good way to spend time with the husband. Wishing you many such beautiful movies together ๐Ÿ™‚

    Books.. what can I say? I used to reading a book within 3-5 days, before marriage. Now.. as you pointed out, I am not able to get engrossed in it. Something or the other comes up. I used to blame it on S initially, that he is disturbing me. But now.. whom do I have? Still I find it difficult to read 100s of pages at one go ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Nevertheless, I am reading. I have not read any of the books you mentioned.. Will try to get them next time ๐Ÿ™‚

    I think I should have told you first, but this post sounds like something I should have written too. I am gaining so much weight as well, and thus I too have stopped baking ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Thanks to the crzy worklife, I am left with no time to do any exercise too. Hope I find the time and make it my routine too. Hugss!!

    I am totally blank on the fancy dress competition, but if I get any idea, will drop you a note. I am actually eager as to know in what you are going to dress her up ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I luv historic fiction too and have devoured all of Indu’s books like anything ๐Ÿ™‚
    Glad to know of the TV update and the bonding times you are getting bcoz of that ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Enjoyed reading your update. Lifesong! Thanks for the book recommendations too. A-cake-a-week, that is some passion for baking. Good luck with your gym routine!Then you can bake your cake and eat it without guilt too:)

  5. how about tortoise or toothpaste?? no my sister wore it when she was young for the competition.. or how about joining two baskets, making it as egg, dress cheebu as chicken coming out of egg breaking it?? just an idea..
    eating healthy is always good.. i am also not finding time to write my own posts for blog, but just end up reading other blogs.. blame it on lack of prioritizing.. ๐Ÿ™‚
    i liked the idea of watching movie with hubby and catching up some time, after kids sleep.. :D..

  6. TV Away now tht is awesome.. I get to see Tv for 10-15 minutes in morning to listen to news, I dont know why i am paying all these subscription fees for channels..

    gained and dont know why and you BAKED … hint hint he he he he

    god bless little one ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. N TV days sounds positively stupendous and Cheebu not asking double waw. I love eating a lot of bakery items, but now I may have to completely cut down on all that, my health is not letting me:( Pnky robot was such a hot, I am sure you guys will make something better this time. Looking forward..

  8. WOW!! There is a lot that is happening there ๐Ÿ˜€

    That pink robot is so very cute & creative ๐Ÿ™‚

    And u have been readign a lot, hmmmm….I have read The Shadow Thrown…a good book!

    And No TV is a blessing I tell you! Enjoy!

    As far as weight is concerned just control what u r eating & then I am sure u will be back to ur normal weight ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Wow, there is a lot happening in your life. ๐Ÿ™‚ Good for you!
    Glad to know of the victory of good movies, books and quality family time over the idiot box. Yay to that!
    You seem to be reading so many interesting books… I am somehow not able to read historical fiction. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ SHould try again sometime soon.
    Cheebu looks awesome as the pink robot! For this year, why don’t you try dressing her up as one of your favourite fictional characters? Little Red Riding Hood, maybe? Or Matilda?

  10. Life without TV…its interesting to know that Cheebu does not ask for it…she is such a good girl ๐Ÿ™‚

    There are 4 books waiting to be read in my shelf…am just too lazy to pick them up ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

    Wow..she looks so cute in that robo outfit…this year, maybe you can take the theme of hurricane? Sandy or Nilam….Or you could dress her up as an iPad…Or something related to us winning a good haul in the Olympics?

  11. Wow! That pink robot costume is so innovative!
    Even I miss the way I used to read before S was born or before marriage ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Hey! I love historical fiction too and completely agree that had history been taught this way, not many would forget it ๐Ÿ™‚
    Cheebu is not missing TV? good for you LS ๐Ÿ™‚
    Exercise is something even I am not able to do ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  12. Wow! That looks like some awesome reading ๐Ÿ™‚ Yea, ocne we get used ot being without TV, I guess it shoudl nto be ap roblem (as long as we have the computer ๐Ÿ˜› )

    I must catch hold of Indu’s books soon! Been hearing a lot about it ! ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Hey, it’s great that Cheebu doesn’t miss TV…We too don’t have TV (rather cable connection), so for us also entertainment comes from movies on comp. we enjoy it by having popcorns and snacks while watching movies ๐Ÿ™‚ Sometimes i find it better than watching movies in theater!!!
    Glad to know you joined the gym, but with a child and a job it become difficult to manage. If you can get a trainer to come to your home then it will be easier on you. We are doing yoga like that, The yoga teacher comes to my home and my neighbour and i do it together. This way even your hubby and Cheebu can join you..

Leave a Reply

