The Diwali week

I know I am very late with this update… But I have been caught up with so much work these last few days that I could not post this earlier 😦 … but better late than never. So here goes πŸ™‚

We had planned to spend the Diwali week with the in-laws who stay in a small town close to Delhi. Hubby’s brother’s family was also coming and so Cheebu was very excited on meeting and having fun with her cousins Ch didi (9 years) and Chhotu (3 years). The train journey from Mumbai to Delhi was a big milestone… Β for Cheebu was travelling for the first time as a 5 year old and hence with a ticket and a berth of her own πŸ™‚ All mommies will agree with me that this is a big milestone for the mothers as well for it means getting back the luxury of sleeping all alone on your berth after 5 long years of Β sharing the narrow train berth with your baby πŸ™‚ Once we boarded the train, hubby was a bit hesitant in letting Cheebu sleep alone … what if she falls or is scared? HeΒ even offered to sleep with her πŸ™„ .Β But finally I managed to convince him that it was okay for her to sleep on her own… the upper berths had supports from the sides and I was quite confident that she would not fall off. Besides it was a late night train and it was way past her bedtime. So I knew that she would fall asleep in no time and there would be no time to be scared. Reluctantly he agreed πŸ™‚ Cheebu slept peacefully on her own berth while we checked on her several times during the night.

Cheebu was delighted to be with her cousins. She and her Ch didi did lots of creative things together

They made colourful rangolis

DSC03872 DSC03860

Transformed the earthen diyas into beautiful colourful ones

DSC03868

Had their hands decorated with mehendi

DSC03882

The in-laws house is a blend of things modern and traditional… where we still have the traditional chulha that uses “Gose” or “kande” made from cowdung as fuel.

DSC04044

And where Cheebu would accompany her dadiji to get milk freshly milked from buffaloes in front of their eyes πŸ™‚ – very different from the life we normally lead here.

It was so good to see the cousins bonding so well together…

DSC04021

Cheebu was inseparable from her Ch didi.Β Ch didi applied Mehndi on Cheebu’s hands

DSC03867And read her stories from the book “Adventures of the wishing chair”

DSC04038All this coupled with Diwali festivities and funDSC03890

DSC03948made this holiday a very memorable one πŸ™‚

24 thoughts on “The Diwali week

  1. Lovely update LS πŸ™‚ I am happy you posted it, though a bit late πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I loved all the pics.. and I was transported to my grandparents place, where we used to go as kids every year. Those cots, stove, milking buffaloes reminded me of my childhood memories. I am sure you guys had a super duper diwali. πŸ™‚

  2. What a heartwarming post! I am so glad you posted these updates. No matter if they are late! πŸ™‚
    The pic of all 3 cousins huddled together is so beautiful! God bless!
    I LOVE that chulha too.
    I never thought of the berth issue in trains so far. Thanks for enlightening me! πŸ™‚

    • Glad you liked πŸ™‚
      Even I had never considered the berth issue in trains till I had Cheebu πŸ™‚ The berth suddenly feels so wide and comfortable now πŸ˜€

  3. Oh what fun!! So glad she got to have that experience…am sure she had a blast….such simple pleasures…Yeah I understand about the berth thing since Ads migrated to it just a year ago. I remember how excited he was when he slept alone for the first time πŸ™‚

  4. wowo wow wow awesome pics and better late then never , thanks for shring ..

    I loved the Chulha WOW.. and the cow dung things for the fire .. that is very traditional.. reminded me of Home back in the village .. I want ot buy it for sure .. in punjabi they are called “Paathiyaan” and when men went to fields the women folk would make them and then leave them to dry..

    brought some memories

    • Glad you liked πŸ™‚
      The chulha is used only in winters at the inlaws place to heat water or to make certain things like gajar halwa or bajre ki khichdi… and the cow dung fuel is also now bought πŸ™‚
      Glad it brought back some good memories for you πŸ™‚

  5. So true about sharing the berth with your kid on trains..am also waiting for S to turn 5 soon πŸ™‚
    Loved the pics of the cousins..must have been a lovely diwali celebrated in a traditional way..

  6. Loooooved the pic of reading bed tiem stories, mehendi and the 3 cousins and ofcourse Cheebu in her awesome outfit in the last pic πŸ™‚
    Loved the chulha. So glad to read this late. I wouldn’t want to miss out on the lovely pics!

Leave a Reply

