A quick update…

Life has been very very busy lately. I have lots of things to share, but things have been so busy both at work and on the homefront that I have had no time to update my blog. There are many half written posts in my drafts… while I finish them, I thought I owe this space a quick update.

Making the most of the good weather at this time of the year, most of the weekends are spent outdoors. We made a day trip to Kashid beach which is about 120 km from our place. We love this beach so much that it has become like a sort of annualΒ pilgrimageΒ for us πŸ™‚

Last to last thursday, hubby pings me at work and we plan a road trip… yes, just like that πŸ™‚ By next day, plans are made and hubby gets the bookings done and saturday morning we are on the road πŸ™‚ We planned a 3D/2N trip along the Konkan coast to Velneshwar and Ganpatipule but when we reach the beautiful beach of Ganpatipule, we decided to extend our trip by one more day. It was such a lovely place. I had heard so much about this place and was longing to visit it for a long time. It was much farther than any road trip we had done so far, so we were not sure if we could drive all the way till there especially since I don’t have the confidence to drive on highways and so the entire job of driving falls on hubby. We had Β always thought we would go there by train. But synchronizingΒ train reservation with MTDC resort availability at short notice always proved to be impossible. So when hubby suggested that we could drive there with a break at Velneshwar, I quickly agreed. As it is, I love road trips and with our own car we get to explore more of the place. We had a great trip… travelogue coming up soon πŸ™‚

On the work front, it was that time of the year where in addition to my usual work, I take some lectures for the trainees. I have realized that while I like to teach, this is the most that I can manage for the year. Preparing for the lectures takes such a big amount of my time and there is so much of effort involved that I really really admire people who do it on a regular basis. But I am not complaining… I love all the interaction that I get with the trainees and it is a learning experience for me too. Here’s an incident… last year, after I finished with my lectures, a Β trainee came and said to me “Thank you Ma’am. You taught the subject really well” To say that I went over the moon would be an understatement πŸ™‚ So this year, after I have finished the course, when I see a trainee approaching me with words like “Ma’am, I would like to tell you something…” I am prepared to go over the moon again till I hear “… you have a great collection of salwar suits” πŸ™„ Sigh! I manage to mutter some thanks and then ask her about the course πŸ™‚

Lectures are over, but life at work continues to be busy. At home too, since weekends are spent outdoors, there is a long list of unfinished chores. Most of the last weekend was spent doing that. Looking forward to the coming long weekend. Yippee! πŸ™‚

We have discovered a Table tennis table in our building. While hubby goes down to play every morning, I manage to play with him (I have no one else to play with 😦 ) on weekend evenings. I must say, I am enjoying this πŸ™‚ I wish we had discovered this earlier.

I have lots of Cheebu updates as well. Hope to do a post soon. As of now, we are worried by her recent behaviour. Since last week, she has been a bit unwilling to go to school. Now this has never happened before. In fact, she loves school and her teacher. But on at least 3 days from the past 6 school days, she has refused to go to school and even cried at school 😦 I tried to discuss with her but she gave me all sorts of vague reasons. When this happened again today, hubby spoke to her teacher. She is as surprised as us but said that once in the classroom, she is normal. She is doing good at school and everyday she shares with us stories from the school as enthusiastically as before. She tells us about the stars teacher gave her, about her friends … I hope it is only a phase but it is worrisome for us. I am planning to talk to her daycare teachers tomorrow.

20 thoughts on “A quick update…

    • Travel tales coming up soon πŸ™‚
      Hehe.. maybe I should do a post on my salwar suit collection πŸ˜›
      Hugs back Swaram… I too hope it is a phase and passes away soon.

  1. lol on the collection of salwar suits πŸ™‚
    Abt cheebu may be try talking to her randomly about her friends and if she had issues with any of them recently.. all I could think of is simple fights between friends that makes them lonely.. try it.. It is definitely a phase and shall pass too soon..no worries..

  2. Hugs LifeSong!!! Muwahs to Cheebu, gosh I’ve missed commenting on this space 😦

    Kashid has been our favorite beach too…serene and silent πŸ™‚

    write more….

    • Hey Scribby, I missed you here too … Hope to see you more often πŸ™‚
      Kashid is certainly our favorite beach around here though it is no longer serene and silent as it used to be… at least on weekends πŸ™‚

  3. Lovely!

    Roadtrips that are unplanned and done on a whim are fantastic πŸ™‚

    Hmm, how does Cheebu go to school? Something she experienced on the way that makes her happy in class her finding it hard only to transition from home to school?

    • Yes, totally agree with you πŸ™‚ This road trip turned out to be great fun πŸ™‚
      Cheebu’s school is walking distance from home… she goes with hubby walking or by car. He leaves her with the teacher herself … so if there was anything on the way, we would know.

  4. LOL @ salwar suit collection.

    Good to know you have been having a nice time. I have been wanting to visit Ganpatipule and Kashid since long. Have heard loads of good things about them. You are so lucky – they are just 120 kms away from your place!! I would LOVE it if I could have beaches so near my place. πŸ™‚

    Hope things get better with Cheebu soon. All the very best!

    • Kashid is 120 km from our place… but Ganpatipule is more than 300 km away πŸ™‚ that is why it was a long trip πŸ™‚
      Yes, it is a bliss to stay in a place where at least you can drive to a beach πŸ™‚ That said the beaches within Mumbai are much closer but very dirty 😦 So we look for better beaches around Mumbai.

  5. It’s nice to discover something that you enjoy to do…glad to know you found that you enjoy teaching….
    Wow, you play Table tennis…Now we have to meet, if not anything else then i would at least get to play TT!!!
    when the kids refuse to go to school and don’t give any reason for that, then it does worry parents a lot…i hope Cheebu gets over this soon…

  6. So many things you had to update LS.. I almost lost track of the numbers of things I wanted to tell you about after reading your post. Its all good updates and made me feel happy about it πŸ™‚ Opps.. I almost forgot – You said Cheebu has been crying to go to school na. I hope things get better with her! Hugs!

  7. Your trip sounds lovely, I love these impromptu plans, you enjoy more I think. Have heard a lot about Ganpatiphule but never been there:( I hope things are better with Cheebu now! Pl. think of salwar post. I prefer getting mine stitched but getting a good tailor has been a big challenge.

  8. I want to see your salwar suit collection!!

    Lovely re..to have such destinations around you..write the travelogues soon πŸ™‚

    Maybe Cheebu’s friend changed schools? Did you get to know the reason yet..

    • I actually have a very boring salwar suit collection Visha πŸ™‚ … according to hubby and another close friend πŸ™‚
      travelogue coming up soon πŸ™‚
      Cheebu is much better now… We talked to her teachers at school and daycare… there was no problem anywhere. Probably it was the hangover after the vacation πŸ˜› also, we are trying to not rush her up in the mornings … she tends to get cranky then. Probably that helped too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

