She is growing up

Yes, my little girl is growing up fast. Today was her first day in first standard at school. She was super excited and so was I of course, but one look at her all dressed up in her new uniform, the uniform for big kids, made me go all sentimental. She has grown up so much!! Wasn’t it not so long ago that I had brought my little baby home from the hospital… and today she is ready for first standard! My big little girl! Days are going so fast and though I may constantly complain that I do not get enough time for myself in the midst of all the madness that my life is, I know deep in my heart that I will always cherish these days spent with her, seeing her grow. Each new milestone comes with mixed feelings for me, that of happiness on seeing her grow and also sadness that these days will soon be gone.

She was so excited that she woke up early on her own in the morning, got ready on her own, had her breakfast … all this without being told. Sigh! If only all days could be like today… but I know, it is only the initial excitement and soon we will settle into the old routine of me waking her up, being after her to finish her milk and get ready πŸ™‚ While I gave her a hug on seeing her dressed up, she bent down to touch my feet πŸ™‚ IΒ don’tΒ know how such things strike her πŸ™‚ She was at her angelic best today. She then went and said thank you to God with hands joined and recited all the shlokas she knows… the Gayatri mantra and Asto ma… We then went to school. I took her to her new class room. She was a bit apprehensive at first, but relaxed when she saw familiar faces of her classmates in the classroom. Her earlier class teacher from prep also came. From whatever memories I have from my first day at school, I remember feeling a bit insecure and my heart was heavy wondering if she was feeling the same. But soon a friend came and sat beside her and she bade me bye with a big smile and “All the best”. Yes, I need all those good wishes too πŸ™‚

Last year was good at school. She did well and more importantly, she was interested in learning. We did not have to force her for anything. She always did her homework on her own. There were no academic exams, just some assessments like drawing, clayΒ molding, fancy dress, story telling etc in which she did quite well. She even managed to get a second prize Β in a sports event. She went for school picnic with her friends where she enjoyed a lot. Β For the prep day celebrations (which is the annual function for the pre-prep and prep students), she was selected to give the welcome speech Β on stage. And she delivered it so well… there was no stage fright and it was so perfect. She made us swell with pride. She also performed in a group dance where she enjoyed herself thoroughly. So overall it was a good year.

Today, she also moves to a new section at her daycare with bigger children and where the caretakers to child ratio goes down. She is excited, as for her it is a sign of growing up while I am a bit worried if she will manage. I can’t wait for evening to pick her up and get updates from her of the day.

In other news, her first tooth fell off yesterday. Thankfully the tooth fairy was prepared with the gift πŸ˜‰ When she got the gift today morning, she told me “You know Mumma, I thought tooth fairy didn’t exist. But now I know that she does” πŸ™‚ Of course, she does my dear πŸ˜‰

14 thoughts on “She is growing up

  1. oh.. kids grow up so fast na.. i can understand ur mixed feelings re.. i am sure she is doing fine.. we are also waiting to know more stories about her first day in school..

  2. Wishing the little big girl – all the very best!! πŸ™‚ May she shine all through the year and have lots of fun as well. And now LS.. All the very best to you, With Cheebu taking one step forward you are moving forward too πŸ™‚

  3. They do grow up so very fast. Hugs to you! Because I think we moms need it more than they do. They do just fine. We are the ones who are a told mess with every change that they have to go through πŸ™‚

  4. Awww…This is such a cute post!!! I can understand, how proud you must have felt…
    I have always found it great that Cheebu is really interested in learning….
    Yaay for the tooth fairy πŸ™‚
    Lots of love and best wishes to all of you….

  5. Its a week already now, hope she is enjoying school and entertaining you with aaj-pata-hai-kya-hua stories πŸ˜›

    Hugs to Cheebu, she is an all-rounder, no doubt about that πŸ™‚

  6. Awwww, what a cute post! πŸ™‚ She sounds like such an enthusiastic, sunshine-ey kid!

    Cheebu is indeed growing up fast! πŸ™‚ All the very best to you both. Hope she is doing well at school.

    Back to your blog after a long, long time. Hope all’s well. No posts since long!

Leave a Reply

