The year that went by

As I mentioned in my last post, 2013 was a good year albeit a very tough one for us.

To start with, Hubby got a good opportunity job wise πŸ™‚ , but he had to move to another city 😦 Β It was tough for me managing home, a full time job and Cheebu all alone. Add to it my bad health  😦 Β Health wise, it has been a bad year for me in a long long time 😦 It was a gentle reminder for me to not take my good health for granted and work towards maintaining it by having a healthy lifestyle and by avoiding stress. Stress by itself can cause so many problems.

Things became tougher when hubby had to go abroad for a few months, because now he was not around even on weekends 😦 But, well he had a great experience there πŸ™‚ . I wish we could have joined him there, but unfortunately, it didn’t work out this time 😦 … even after a lot of planning and even having our visas made 😦 That was a big disappointment.

Workwise, it was a good year for me too πŸ™‚ I got a big promotion at work πŸ™‚ for which I had to put in lots of efforts preparing for the interview. That was an additional burden for me. But all’s well that ends well πŸ™‚ I wanted to wrap up a few things which count as a personal achievement at work by the end of the year. But life doesn’t always go as per planning …. so it has dragged into the new year as well, still keeping me busy 😦 I hope to complete it soon to my satisfaction. Fingers crossed.

After many months of planning and searching, we finally booked a new house πŸ™‚ It is an under construction project and we wont be getting possession in the immediate future. But we dont intend to stay there for now, so that’s ok. It is one big thing ticked off our “to-do list”. Searching for a home was an experience in itself. Maybe I should do a post on that too.

Meanwhile, the last few days of 2013 saw us shifting into a new house. Our new home is very close to the older one, but it feels like a different place altogether. We are right in the midst of nature and as hubby says, it feels like staying in a resort πŸ™‚ It is nice and spacious but we miss our old home 😦 I will do a separate post on both the homes – the old one and the new one πŸ™‚ (gives me some fodder for blogging everyday πŸ˜‰ ) Meanwhile, we are still settling in…. it has been just a few days here. The house is a mess with half opened and unopened boxes lying everywhere. Setting up the new home is still work in progress and a long long way to go.

Cheebu started with proper school in 2013. I say “proper” because because she moved to 6 hours at school from 2 and half hours of school. She also had exams for the first time (there were no exams in her school in pre prep and prep). It has been a good year at school so far. But let me save this for another post on Cheebu updates.

The saddest part of the year was that we hardly took any holidays 😦 Our trip to Ganpatipule last January was the last proper vacation we had 😦 The only consolation was that Cheebu and I managed to make a trip to my parents place at Allahabad for Diwali. I spent Diwali with my parents after many years and it was the most relaxed Diwali I have had in a long long time. I spent 2 hours just making a rangoli which is a big luxury on Diwali day. We also managed to make a trip to Vindhyachal and Sitamarhi apart from some sightseeing in Allahabad itself. This trip gave me a much needed and big break from my very hectic life here. I hope 2014 will be a better year in terms of holidays and we are able to take a few vacations this year.

Another highlight of the year was when my parents and brother with SIL and my little neice visited us here in Mumbai. What fun we had with everyone around. Those days are some very cherished memories of the year πŸ™‚

So that was 2013 for us… a good one in terms of achievements, but a very tough one with lot of struggles. Now that 2014 is here, my biggest wish from this new year is to bring us together as a family. 2014! Are you listening? πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “The year that went by

  1. Yes it has been a pretty tough year looks like! But all’s well than ends well πŸ™‚ Glad to hear about the promotion, house purchase – congrats! And spending time with parents in a relaxed fashion – well how often does that happen? πŸ™‚ Happy new year to you and cheebu!

  2. Hmmm. you had a very busy year!! Congratulations on the promotion and new home!! May you keep finding happiness at both work and personal front!!
    Waiting for Cheebu updates πŸ™‚

  3. You seem to have had a pretty packed year and schedule! And you’ve managed so well! Congrats on the home and work recognition! Hope 2014 is more easier for you all.

  4. May all your wishes come true this year !! I feel most relaxed when I have my parents around. I am craving to go and stay with them now. Congratulations on your promotions!!

    You are also giving me ideas to post on our new home. I haven’t done all that tour πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

