Today

It has been a busy day today. We have been in this new house for just over a week and still not fully settled in. There are still boxes lying waiting to be unpacked. This weekend, I had planned to set up Cheebu’s room. Her bed and study table were already in place and last evening, we unpacked the cartons containing her toys. She is excited about having her own room here and I feel this is the right opportunity to transition her from co-sleeping with us to her own bed in her room. She slept in her own room last night, second time since we came here and it is me who keeps missing her when I wake up in the night ๐Ÿ™„ Being a Sunday, we woke up at leisure. The cook didn’t turn up in the morning, so we had bread with leftover bhaji of pav bhaji from dinner yesterday for breakfast. After breakfast, while I unpacked and setup the things, hubby got busy in drilling and fitting things. Setting up a house is a lot of work. A little girl of Cheebu’s age who stays downstairs came to call Cheebu to her house to play with. Cheebu immediately went with her excitedly. Children are so different from us grown ups. They make friends so soon. The two girls go to the same school though different sections. They met properly only yesterday evening playing downstairs and today they have become such good friends ๐Ÿ™‚ Well, I am happy for Cheebu as she loves being with kids. In our previous home, she had so many friends, she was mostly out playing with them or our house would be full of kids on weekend and holidays. I was worried that she would be bored here without friends missing her old friends in the beginning. She was back after a while happy to have found a friend here.

I fed Cheebu a late lunch of Khichdi and rushed her to her swimming class. Usually, I wait through her class talking with other moms, but today I had not had my lunch, so went back home. Had a hurried lunch and rushed back to pick her up from the class. I was just in time. She was very ย very excited today, as today was the first day she had been made to jumpย pushed into the pool instead of getting down ๐Ÿ™‚ It seems she managed well. She described to me that, “I was scared that the teacher would push me in the pool but when my turn came it was fun. I went down right to the bottom of the pool…. my feet touched the bottom and then I came up” Okay! I admit it sounded very scary to me but she actually enjoyed the experience. she passed a big test today in swimming. I know this is scary for many kids and many kids are actually scared to get into the pool after this. I really don’t know, if it is the right way to teach them. For Cheebu, it has been just over a month that she has been learning and she is enjoying the experience so far. She is in super excited mood after today’s class and has proclaimed “I am never going to leave swimming, I am going to be a swimmer when I grow up” ๐Ÿ™‚ Back home, after her bath, we unpacked her books and set them up in her room. Her room is now almost ready…. just needs curtains, some pictures and her art work to adorn the walls. She is already loving it ๐Ÿ™‚

Evening she had another class… a vedic fun class at our previous next door neighbour’s house. It was very convenient to attend earlier as it was just next door. But now we have to walk over to the building…. but it is also a good excuse to meet her old friends. Hubby has gone to bring her back and I guess I must wrap up this post now.

I am glad, I participated in the Blogathon for otherwise, I would generally not have recorded a random day of our life here ๐Ÿ™‚ Would be fun coming back here and reading this post some years later ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

4 thoughts on “Today

  1. talk to me about setting up a home.. I am tired of it or rather have mastered it now.. give me boxes and an empty house. I can set them all up in 2 days!!! or give me a room full of stuff and some empty suitcases. I can pack them all in one day!! Sigghhโ€ฆ

    glad to read about your day..

  2. All the best with the new sleeping arrangements..Hope it works out soon and you stop missing the little girl at night ๐Ÿ™‚
    Cheebu is brave!! I still am afraid of jumping in the pool!!

Leave a Reply

